Wednesday, 6 December, 2023, 12:53 AM
Advance Search
Home National

Shafiqur president, Farida gen secy of JPC

Published : Saturday, 31 December, 2016 at 7:39 PM  Count : 1330
Observer Online Report

Shafiqur president, Farida gen secy of JPC

Shafiqur president, Farida gen secy of JPC

Senior journalist Muhammad Shafiqur Rahman and Farida Yasmin have been elected president and general secretary respectively of the managing committee of Jatiya Press Club.

Shafiqur bagged 672 votes while Farida got 439 votes.

The election to a new managing committee for 2016-17 tenure was held on Saturday.

The voting began at 9am and continued till 5 pm without any break.

In 62 years history of National Press Club, it has got a woman general secretary. Since its inception in 1954, women were not elected in two top posts of the press club. 

Farida Yasmin is wife of senior journalist Noyeem Nizam.

Out of 17 posts, AL-backed Shafiqur-Farida panel has won 14 posts while BNP-supported MA Aziz-Quader-Gani has won the posts of joint general secretary and an executive member. 

Out of panels, being an indivisual candidate, Mainul Alam has win the post of an executive member. 

A total of 1089 votes were cast out of 1218 votes. 

Shafiqur's nearest competitor MA Aziz has got 279 votes while another competitor Khandaker Monirul Alam has got 120 votes.

In the general secretary post, Farida Yeasmin bagged 439 votes while her nearest candidate Quader Gani has got 350 votes. Another candidate for the same post, Quamrul Islam Chowdhury has got 282 votes.

With the highest 807 votes, Saiful Alam has become senior vice president. Two candidates for the same post, Ruhul Quddus has got 362 votes while Nurul Amin Rokon has got 183 votes.

Azizul Islam Bhuiyan has won the post of vice president getting 570 votes while his nearest candidate Sadrul Hasan has got 239 votes. Another candidate Farid Ahmed has got 198 votes in competing for the same post.

Elected joint general secretaries are Shahed Chowdhury (627 votes) and Ilias Khan (452 votes). Their nearest candidate Ashraf Ali has bagged 439 votes.

Ten executive members are: Syamol Datta (574), Quddus Afras (535), Mainul Alam (511), Rezwanul Hoque Raza (488), Molla Jalal (459), Shamsuddin Ahmed Charu (452), Hasan Hafiz (423), Shahnaj Begum (399), Kallyan Shah (378) and Hasan Arefin (360). 

A total of 30 members contested for 10 posts of executive members.

During announcement of results, Prime Minister's media advisor and Editor of The Daily Observer Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury, among others, was present.     


Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], For Online Edition: [email protected]
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft