Wednesday, 22 May, 2024, 10:59 AM
Advance Search

ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2024

Taskin named Bangladeshs vice-captain

Saifuddin dropped

Published : Wednesday, 15 May, 2024 at 12:00 AM  Count : 258

Taskin named Bangladeshs vice-captain

Taskin named Bangladeshs vice-captain

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the 15-member Bangladesh National Mens Cricket squad for the ICC Mens T20 World Cup West Indies & USA 2024 on Tuesday, with no surprises except for the replacement of Mohammad Saifuddin by Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Express bowler Taskin Ahmed, who will miss the forthcoming series against the USA due to injury and is uncertain about making a comeback before the World Cup, was named the vice-captain of the side.

Taskin, the Player of the Series in the recently concluded home series against Zimbabwe, sustained an injury in the fourth match and subsequently missed the final one.

Besides, despite his recent setbacks, the BCB has shown faith in Liton Das for two reasons-ongoing close work with him and his role as the backup wicketkeeper in the side.

Meanwhile, despite of claiming eight wickets in four innings against Zimbabwe, Mohammad Saifuddin was dropped from the squad due to his failure to execute the teams plans in the death overs.

The Bangladesh squad comprises six specialist batters, including three openers. The batters are-skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad and Jaker Ali Anik.

Shakib Al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan and Soumya Sarkar are the all-rounders, while Tanvir Islam and Rishad Hossain are the spinning options. Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib are the seamers in the Tigers World Cup troop.

Additionally, batter Afif Hossain and pacer Hasan Mahmud will be with the team as travelling reserves, with Hasan likely to replace Taskin during the series against the USA.

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Taskin Ahmed (Vice Captain), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Traveling reserves: Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud.