Saturday, 15 June, 2024, Reg No- 06
Advance Search

India Womens tour of Bangladesh 2024

Hosts enrich pace unit with uncapped teenager

Published : Thursday, 18 April, 2024 at 12:00 AM  Count : 304

Hosts enrich pace unit with uncapped teenager

Hosts enrich pace unit with uncapped teenager

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the 15-member womens squad for the upcoming five-match T20 international series against India. The only uncapped member of the side is 15-year-old right-arm pacer Habiba Islam Pinky.

Habiba is the 3rd pacer in the squad alongside Marufa Akter and Fariha Islam Trishna.

"Not much has changed in the squad. Sylhets wicket favours pacers, hence we have included an additional pacer. We have chosen Habiba Islam Pinky in place of batter Sumiya Akter Nishi," said womens team selector Sajjad Ahmed in a video message conveyed by the BCB.

"Habiba Pinky has been selected with Sylhets wicket in mind. We aim to introduce some changes. In the previous series, we played with two pacers - Marufa and Trishna. Therefore, we are adding a back-up pacer this time, and we are likely to adopt that format and play a few matches with two pacers," he explained.

Additionally, wicketkeeper-batter Rubya Haider Jhelik has made a comeback after 10 months recovering from a leg injury, which she sustained during the Emerging Asia Cup in Hong Kong last June.

"Jhelik comes in as the replacement for back-up wicketkeeper-batter Farzana Haque Liza," added Sajjad.

The Tigresses, led by Nigar Sultana Joty, will commence formal practice ahead of the series from April 20 and the Indian team is scheduled to arrive in Bangladesh on April 23.

The matches of the series are set to take place on April 28, April 30, May 2, May 6 and May 9. The Sylhet International Cricket Stadium will host all the matches of the series.

SQUAD: Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Nahida Akter (Vice Captain), Murshida Khatun, Sobhana Mostary, Shorna Akter, Ritu Moni, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun, Fahima Khatun, Marufa Akter, Fariha Islam Trisna, Shorifa Khatun, Dilara Akter, Rubya Haider Jhelik, Habiba Islam Pinky.

Stand By: Sumaiya Akter, Nishita Akter Nishi.

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: info©, news©, advertisement©, For Online Edition: mailobserverbd©
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft