Saturday, 18 May, 2024, 10:21 PM
Advance Search

Mohammedan split points with Sheikh Russel in 1-1 draw

Published : Friday, 29 December, 2023 at 9:21 PM  Count : 603

Mohammedan split points with Sheikh Russel in 1-1 draw

Mohammedan split points with Sheikh Russel in 1-1 draw

Both the second round matches of the 10-team ABG Bashundhara Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football ended in a draw at two separate venues across the country on Friday.

Federation Cup champions Dhaka Mohammedan SC split points with former champions Sheikh Russel KC in 1-1 affairs at the Rafique Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh while Rahmatganj MFS, coming from behind twice, played 2-2 draw with Brothers Union at the Bir Shreshtha Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj Friday afternoon.
At Mymensingh, long serving Mali forward  Souleymani Diabate put the traditional black and whites Mohammedan ahead in the 9th minute to dominate the first (1-0).

Burundi midfielder Selemani  restored the parity for Sheikh Russel KC in the 64th minute (1-1).

Sheikh Russel's Japanese midfielder Kodai Lida was adjudged the player of the match.

In the day's other match at Munshiganj, Uzbek forward Otabek put the Brothers Union ahead in the 18th minute from a penalty (1-0) while Ghana forward Boateng leveled the margin for Rahmatganj MFS in the 25th minute (1-1).

Formet national striker Mahbubur Rahman Sufil again put the Gopibagh outfit Brothers ahead in the 67th minute (2-1) while substitute forward   Samin yesar neutralized margin for Rahmatganj in the 88th minute (2-2)..

Later, Samin Yesar was adjudged the best player of the match.

Three more 2nd round matches will be held on Saturday at three venues.

Holders Bashundhara Kings will play Chittagong Abahani Ltd at the Bir Shreshtha Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj, Dhaka Abahani Ltd will face Fortis FC at the Muktijoddha Smriti Stadium in Rajshahi while Sheikh Jamal DC will meet Police FC at the Rafique Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh, all matches will kick- off at 2:30 pm.

The 3rd round matches will be held on January 12 and 13.

After the first round matches, holders Bashundhara Kings, Dhaka Mohammedan SC, Bangladesh Police FC and Sheikh Russel KC dominated the league table securing full three points from their first round matches.

 In the first round matches, Bashundhara Kings outplayed Brothers Union Club 5-2, Dhaka Mohammedan SC beat Fortis SC 2-1, Police FC defeated Chittagong Abahani Ltd 2-0, Sheikh Russel KC beat Sheikh Jamal DC 2-1  and six-time champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd played 1-1 draw with Rahmatganj MFS

The BPL matches scheduled to be held in every Friday and Saturday of the week.


Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: info©, news©, advertisement©, For Online Edition: mailobserverbd©
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft