Wednesday, 22 March, 2023, 2:46 AM
Advance Search
Home National

By-polls to six vacant seats underway

Published : Wednesday, 1 February, 2023 at 9:47 AM  Count : 489

By-polls to six vacant seats underway

By-polls to six vacant seats underway

Voting in the by-polls to the six parliamentary seats  which left vacant following the recent resignation of BNP's lawmakers began at 8:30am on Wednesday.

Voters will cast their votes through electronic voting machine (EVM) at all centres from 8.30am to 4.30pm.

The six seats are Thakurgaon-3, Bogura-4 and Bogura-6, Chapainawabganj-2 and 3; and Brahmanbaria-2.

Most of the centres are experiencing a low voter turnout.

Meanwhile, a chase and counter-chase between supporters of the Awami League candidate and those of an independent candidate's in Chapainawabganj-3.

Huge number of law enforcement agencies are on the field to fend off any untoward situation.

A total of 2,255,217 people are expected to exercise their franchise in 867 polling centers.

Earlier on December 10, 2022 at a public rally, parliamentarians of BNP announced their resignation from the JS. The next day, Chapainawabganj-2 lawmaker Md Aminul Islam, Bogura-4 lawmaker Md. Mosharraf Hossain, Bogura-6 lawmaker Golam Mohammad Siraj, and Thakurgaon-3 lawmaker Zahidur Rahman resigned from the parliament.

Two other BNP lawmakers — Advocate Abdus Sattar of Brahmanbaria-2 constituency and Harun-or-Rashid of Chapainawabganj-3 — resigned from the parliament later.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 223353467, 223353481-2; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], For Online Edition: [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft