Tuesday, 3 August, 2021, 12:17 AM
Advance Search
Home National

Elections to 204 Union Parishads Monday

Published : Sunday, 20 June, 2021 at 10:39 PM  Count : 270

Elections to 204 Union Parishads Monday

Elections to 204 Union Parishads Monday

Elections to 204 Union Parishads will be held tomorrow.

Some 173 Union Parishads will go to polls in Barishal division, while two UPs in Narsingdi district, six UPs in Gazipur, 13 in Madaripur, two UPs in Sunamganj, six UPs in Laxmipur, one UP in Rangpur and one UP in Barguna.

The electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in the voting of 20 UPs out of 204. The elections will be held from 8 am to 4 pm without any break.

Earlier, the Election Commission (EC) decided to hold elections to 367 UPs of the country in first phase. But, on June 10 last, the EC postponed polls to 163 union parishads due to the high infection rate of corronavrius.

Besides, as per the schedules, by-polls to Laxmipur-2 and Jhalokati sadar and Seterganj (Dinajpur) municipality elections will be held tomorrow. The EVMs will be used in Laxmipur-2 by-polls and both Jhalokati sadar and Seterganj municipality elections.

The EC has already instructed the authorities concerned to hold the elections following the health guidelines.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 223353467, 223353481-2; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft