Sunday, 25 July, 2021, 5:23 AM
Advance Search
Home Sports

DPL Super League begins Saturday without Shakib, Tamim

Published : Friday, 18 June, 2021 at 10:54 PM  Count : 204

DPL Super League begins Saturday without Shakib, Tamim

DPL Super League begins Saturday without Shakib, Tamim

The Super League phase of the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Twenty20 Cricket League is all set to begin Saturday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium without the two most senior national team players – Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal.

Shakib left Dhaka for the US early Friday to spend time with his family; Tamim has suffered a leg injury throughout the league.

Both Shakib and Tamim's teams – Mohammedan Sporting Club, and Prime Bank Cricketers – have qualified for the Super League.

Masuduzzaman, the chair of the cricket committee of Mohammedan, said: "Shakib asked for permission to skip the Super League to spend time with his family in the US. Respecting his decision, we approved his leave."

Tamim said: "I have been suffering from a leg injury and discussed my condition with the medical team of the board. They told me to rest for a while. Since we have a long series in Zimbabwe, I think I have to be better prepared than I'm right now. So I think I should skip the Super League."

Super League lineup

Prime Bank Cricket Club topped the points table with the most wins in the initial phase of the league, which consists of 11 rounds. The table-toppers won nine matches and the number two team Abahani eight.

Prime Doleshwar, Gazi Group Cricketers, Mohammedan Sporting Club and Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club are the other teams of the Super League.

On Saturday, three matches will take place at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium where Doleshwar will face Gazi Group at 9am. In the second match, Prime Bank will play against Sheikh Jamal at 2pm while Abhani will take on Mohammedan at 6:30pm. All the matches will be telecast live on GTV and T Sports.

The second, third, fourth and fifth rounds of the Super League will be played on June 20, 22, 23 and 25 at the same venue.

Three teams – Legends of Rupganj, Old DOHS Sports Club and Partex Sporting Club – who hit the rock bottom in the points table – will take on each other once in the relegation round, which will also begin on June 19 at BKSP.

The toppers of the relegation league will get the chance to play the next Dhaka League directly, but the other two teams will be relegated to the first division, and they will need to end it as the champions or runners-up to play the next edition of Dhaka League.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 223353467, 223353481-2; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft