Thursday, 6 May, 2021, 7:15 PM
latest Bangladesh reports 41 Covid-19 deaths, lowest in a day since March 28       Khaleda Zia recovers from COVID-19      
Home Sports

Delhi Capitals beat Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets

Published : Saturday, 10 April, 2021 at 11:50 PM  Count : 244

Delhi Capitals beat Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets

Delhi Capitals beat Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets

Delhi Capitals defeated Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets in the second match of Indian Premier League (IPL) at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday night.

Delhi Capitals scored 190/3 playing 18.4 overs, while Chennai Super Kings bagged 188/7 in 20 overs.

Chasing a target of 189 runs, Delhi Capitals wrapped up proceedings with eight balls to spare. DC reached 190 for three in 18.4 overs, with standby captain Rishabh Pant hitting the winning six. Openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan gave DC a dominant start during the chase, scoring half-centuries respectively.

Shaw slammed 72 off 38 balls, packed with nine fours and three sixes.

Meanwhile, Dhawan scored 85 in 54 balls, consisting of 10 fours and two sixes. The duo's dominant display set up the win for Delhi Capitals, with Pant and Shimron Hetmyer sealing the win in the 19th over.

Despite conceding 53 runs in 3.4 overs, Shardul Thakur took two wickets for CSK.

Meanwhile, Dwayne Bravo registered a dismissal.

Earlier, CSK wrapped up their innings at 188 for seven after 20 overs. Suresh Raina was the top-scorer for CSK, registered a half-century.

He slammed 54 off 36 balls, packed with three fours and four sixes. Moeen Ali also made a quickfire contribution, scoring 36 off 24 deliveries.

Despite MS Dhoni losing his wicket in a two-ball duck, Sam Curran (34) and Ravindra Jadeja (26) gave a good finish to their innings. Chris Woakes and Avesh Khan were in good form for DC, taking two wickets each.

Meanwhile, R Ashwin and Tom Curran registered a dismissal each.

Delhi Capitals Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (captain and wicket keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Umesh Yadav

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain and wicket keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Krishnappa Gowtham, Dwayne Bravo, Sam Curran, Lungi Ngidi, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 2223353467, 2223353469; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft