Monday, 18 January, 2021, 4:30 AM
Home Sports

Dhaka, Rajshahi eying winning start in Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Published : Monday, 23 November, 2020 at 9:49 PM  Count : 382

Dhaka, Rajshahi eying winning start in Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Dhaka, Rajshahi eying winning start in Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Beximco Dhaka captain Mushfiqur Rahim is upbeat to make a decent start in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup as his side will take on Minister Group Rajshahi at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium tomorrow (Tuesday).

The match starts at 1.30 PM. State run Bangladesh Television and T Sports will telecast the match live.

While Mushfiqur Rahim is eying to have a good start, his opposite number Nazmul Hossain Shanto made it clear, they would leave no stone unturned to get a positive result in the match.

Apparently, many people may mull Mushfiqur’s Dhaka is slightly weaker than Rajshai and the reason is quite reasonable. Apart from him, Naim Sheikh and Sabbir Rahman, there are no experienced batsmen, who are capable of winning matches on the big stage for Dhaka.

Young Tanzid Hasan Tamim will open the innings with Naim Sheikh. The likes of Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi, Rabiul Islam Robi who will come to bat later are also quite young. Akbar Ali and Pinak Ghosh are expected to bat in the middle order. Shahadat Hossain Dipu will accompany Sabbir Rahman in the lower middle order.

Apart from Rubel Hossain and Nayeem Hasan, there is no big name in the bowling department of the Beximco Dhaka. Young Abu Haider Rony, Muktar Ali and Mehedi Hasan Rana will aid Rubel Hossain in pace bowling department while Nasum Ahmed will partner Nayeem Hasan in spin department.

But Mushfiqur is still optimistic with his side and the reason is that the squad includes Under-19 World Cup winning trio: Akbar Ali, Tanzid Tamim and Shahadat Hossain Dipu.

“Hopefully Beximco Dhaka will start the tournament with good note and finish it the same way. Our first goal is to move into the top four and of course then we’ll play to win the title,” Mushfiqur said here today.

“Our team may look inexperienced but they are matured enough. I have played for the last 15-16 years and have not won a single World Cup. We have three or four players in our team who have won the World Cup. There can be no greater pressure than winning the World Cup. If they can play up to the mark and support those of us who are seniors then it will be a good tournament for us.”

Like Mushfiqur’s Dhaka, the Rajshahi team is also full of youth. With the exception of Mohammad Ashraful, Farhad Reza, Rony Talukder, Fazle Rabbi and Arafat Sunny, everyone else is young. However, since one over is enough to win the match in T20 cricket, the Rajshahi captain Nazmul Hossain Shanto, is confident to get off to a flying start.

“We have a lot of young cricketers in the team. The combination is good when you think around. I don’t think there will be a problem,” Nazmul Hossain Shanto, who led Nazmul XI to the final of the BCB President’s Cup, said.

Shanto’s own performance in the last BPL T20 was encouraging and he was looking to replicate that performance.

“Of course, I had a good outing in T20 cricket, specially in the last two or three innings. I feel upbeat when I think about those innings.”

Shanto’s team has some problems also as their key player Mohammad Saifuddin has already been out of the cricket for a week due to an ankle injury. But he is reluctant to give up.

“No doubt, Saifuddin is a very important player to us. But unfortunately maybe for the first six-seven days we won’t get him. But we don’t really have time to think about it. Since we have a match tomorrow, we are confident as we have some good players who can win the match,” he added.


Beximco Dhaka

Mushfiqur Rahim, Rubel Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Nasum Ahmed, Naim Sheikh, Nayeem Hasan, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Akbar Ali, Yeasir Ali Rabbi, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Muktar Ali, Shafiqul Islam, Abu Haider Rony, Pinak Ghosh, Robiul Islam Robi.

Minister Group Rajshahi

Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahadi Hasan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Farhad Reza, Mohammad Ashraful, Arafat Sunny, Ebadot Hossain, Fazle Rabbi, Rony Talukdar, Anisul Emon, Rezaur Rahman, Jaker Ali Anik, Rakibul Hasan (Senior), Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Sunazmul Islam.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 9586651-58; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft