Friday, 3 July, 2020, 12:43 AM
Home ICC World Cup 2019

World Cup 2019 Semi-Final

New Zealand win the toss, bat first

Published : Tuesday, 9 July, 2019 at 3:13 PM  Count : 209

New Zealand win the toss, bat first

New Zealand win the toss, bat first

New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first against India at Old Trafford, Manchester on Tuesday.

India prefer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal to Mohammad Shami and Kuldeep Yadav. Ravindra Jadeja also keeps his place. New Zealand’s team is as expected, with Lockie Ferguson returning from injury to replace Tim Southee.

Virat Kohli took on Kane Williamson in a semi-final 11 years ago. India tripped New Zealand, entered the finals and then lifted the Under-19 trophy. The scenario is similar, the stakes are much higher and like that night back in 2008, there is also forecast of rain. The pressure will be on India and New Zealand know this.

They are comfortable being the underdogs, they are very good at punching above their weight and this is what makes them dangerous.

India playing XI

Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand playing XI

Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult


Related Topics

World Cup 2019  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft