Sunday, 24 October, 2021, 9:48 PM
Home Sports

Rubel, Taijul included in squad for Australia T20Is

Published : Monday, 2 August, 2021 at 4:29 PM  Count : 596

Rubel Hossain. collected photo

Rubel Hossain. collected photo

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 17-member team for the five-match T20I series against Australia starting from Tuesday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

BCB has included Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mosaddek Hossain and Mohammad Mithun in the squad, all of them were out of the T20I squad during Bangladesh’s Zimbabwe tour last month. But they were in the bio-secure bubble of the Bangladesh team.

The absence of the ace batsmen Mushfqiur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das has paved the way for Mosaddek and Mithun, who have been failing to do good for the Tigers for a long time.

In his last 10 innings in international cricket, Mosaddek passed the 50-run mark only once while he got dismissed for a single-digit score on three occasions with three scores under 15-run.

Mithun has also been failing regularly despite getting adequate chances. In his last 10 innings in the international circuit, Mithun failed to reach a two-digit score six times.

In the series against Australia, Bangladesh will be heavily reliant on young guns like Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan and Shamim Hossain.

In the last T20I series against Zimbabwe, Bangladesh’s newest T20I inclusion Shamim did really well. He drew the attention of many in just two innings he played for the Tigers.

While the opening match of this series will take place on August 3, the other matches will be played on August 4, 6, 7 and 9. All the matches will be hosted by the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan (wk), Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Afif Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 223353467, 223353481-2; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft