Thursday, 15 April, 2021, 8:29 AM
Home National

Voting to 29 municipalities begins

Published : Sunday, 28 February, 2021 at 9:36 AM  Count : 349

Voting to 29 municipalities begins

Voting to 29 municipalities begins

Fifth phase elections to 29 municipalities under 20 districts began on Sunday.

The voting, which is being held using electronic voting machines (EVMs), started at 8am and will continue till 4pm.

Additional members of police, Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) and Border Guard of Bangladesh (BGB) have been deployed in the voting areas.

A total of 100 candidates are contesting for the post of mayor in the municipalities, 1,318 in the general wards and 366 in the reserved wards.

These municipalities have 637 polling stations and 4,323 polling booths.

Some 1,384,185 voters are expected to exercise their franchise at the polling stations in Sunday's local body election.

UNB adds: Though the EC on January 19 last announced the schedule for 31 municipalities in the 5th phase election, no balloting will be required in a municipality --Raozan municipality of Chattogram—as all the candidates have already been elected uncontested there.

Besides, the polls to two other municipalities-–Jashore and Dewanganj of Jamalpur—were postponed following the court’s orders.

However, Syedpur municipality of Nilphamari was later added to the list of the 5th phase.

The 29 municipalities include Haragach in Ranpur, Syedpur in Nilphamari, Charghat and Durgapur in Rajshahi, Nachole in Chapainawabganj, Joypurhat, Bogura, Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah, Keshabpur in Jashore, Bhola and Charfesson in Bhola, Madaripur and Shibchar of Madaripur,, Nandail in Mymensingh, Jamalpur, Islampur and Madarganj in Jamalpur.

The rest are- Singair in Manikganj, Kaliganj in Gazipur, Bhairab in Kishoreganj, Habiganj, Brahmanbaria, Matlab and Shahrasti in Chandpur, Raipur in Lakshmipur, Mirsarai, Baraiyarhat and Rangunia in Chattogram.

Earlier, the election to 24 municipalities was held on December 28, while 60 municipalities on January 16 in the second phase, 62 municipalities on January 30 in the third phase and 55 municipalities on February 14 in the 4th phase.


Related Topics

Municipality polls  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 2223353467, 2223353469; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft