Sunday, 19 May, 2019, 3:34 PM
Home Front Page

BNP names executive, standing body members

Published : Sunday, 7 August, 2016 at 1:44 AM  Count : 1040
Fakhrul,  Khasru, Salahuddin get entry in standing committee

Staff Correspondent
BNP names executive, standing body members

BNP names executive, standing body members

BNP on Saturday announced a full list of executive and standing committee members four and a half months after its national council was held.
On behalf of the party, its Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the new central body comprising 502 executive committee members  at a press briefing at the BNP central office at Nayapaltan in the capital.
Of the new body, names of 498 members have been declared and the rest will be announced later.
According to the fresh list, 17 standing committee members, 73 advisers, 35 vice-chairmen, 174 joint secretary generals, secretaries and assistant secretaries and 293 executive members have been kept in the committee.
Mirza Fakhrul,  Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury and  Salahuddin  Ahmed, who is now in India, got entry in the 19-member standing committee.
Salahuddin is the junior-most with his name put out as the 19th member, while two posts --17 and 18 number positions in the BNP policymaking body -- will be announced later.
Former commerce minister Amir Khosru was an adviser to Khaleda Zia, while Salahuddin Ahmed served as joint secretary general in the immediate past central body.
M Shamsul Islam and Sarwari Rahman, absent from party programmes for long due to illness, have been dropped from the standing committee. Sarwari, however, has been included in the panel of party chief's advisers.
The previous committee members RA Gani and Khandaker Delwar Hossain have died while Salauddin Quader Chowdhury has been executed for 1971 war crimes.
As the chairperson, Khaleda Zia heads the national standing committee.
The names of the committee members are announced according to seniority. The second name is Tarique Rahman's, who is the party's senior vice-chairman.
The others are Khandker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Tariqul Islam, Lt Gen (Retd) Mahbubur Rahman, ASM Hannan Shah, MK Anwar, Rafiqul Islam Miah, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury and Salahuddin Ahmed.
Names of the vice-chairmen are former justice TH Khan, M Morshed Khan, Harun-ur-Rashid, Shah Moazzem Hossain, Abdullah Al Noman, Sadek Hossain Khoka, Rabea Chowdhury, Prof Abdul Mannan, Abdul Mannan, Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku, Barrister Shahjahan Omar, Maj (Retd) Hafiz Uddin Ahmed, Chowdhury Kamal Ibne  Yusuf, Altaf Hossain Chowdhury, Selima Rahman, Barkat Ullah Bulu, Mohammad Shahjahan, Mir Nasir Uddin, Shah Mofazzel Hossain Kaikobad, Abdus Salam Pintu, Advocate Khandaker Mahbub Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain Falu, D M Osman Faruk, Ruhul Alam Chowdury, Mahmudul Hasan, Enam Ahmed Chowdhury, Barrister Aminul Haque, Abdul Awal Mintu, Dr AZM Zahid Hossain, Shamsuzzaman Dudu, Ahmed Azam Khan, Advocate Joinal Abedeen, Advocate Nitai Roy Chowdhury, Gias Quader Chowdhury and Showkat Mahmud.
The party's sixth council was held on March 19 this year and the councilors of the party endorsed Khaleda Zia as party chairperson and her son Tarique Rahman as senior vice chairman.
They also entrusted Khaleda Zia with the responsibility to constitute the party executive committee and standing committee.
Ten days later, Mirza Fakhrul's name was announced as the secretary general, Ruhul Kabir Rizvi as the senior joint secretary general and Mizanur Rahman Sinha as the treasurer.
Since then the party has announced names of 42 persons as joint secretaries general, organising secretaries and assistant organising secretaries in three phases until Saturday, when it also announced names of the members of its National Executive Committee.
Fakhrul also announced a three-member partial committee for Chittagong City unit of the party. Dr Shahadat Hossain, Abu Sufian and Abul Hasem Bakar have been made president, vice president and general secretary respectively.
The newly formed committee has been asked to form full-fledged committee within a month.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft