Saturday, 15 August, 2020, 11:46 AM
Home National

AL's Shaheen Chaklader wins in Jashore-6 by-polls

Published : Tuesday, 14 July, 2020 at 10:50 PM  Count : 188

Shaheen Chaklader

Shaheen Chaklader

Awami League nominated candidate Shaheen Chaklader has unofficially been elected winner in Jashore-6 (Keshabpur) by-election.

He received 1,24,003 votes with 'Boat' symbol.

BNP-backed Alhaj Abul Hossain Azad who contested the by-election with the 'Sheaf of Paddy' symbol bagged 2,012 votes.

Jatiya Party candidate Habibur Rahman, who contested with the 'Plough' symbol got 1,678 votes. A total of 1,374 ballot papers were declared invalid.

The number of voters in the constituency were 2 lakh 3,018. The voting was held from 9:00am to 5:00pm without any break.

Assistant Returning Officer Bazlur Rahman said Shaheen Chaklader, who contested the by-election with the 'Boat' symbol was unofficially elected receiving 1,24,003 votes.

Eighteen executive magistrates, RAB, police, Ansar members were deployed for holding the voting at 79 polling centres peacefully in the by-polls.


Related Topics

AL Shaheen Chaklader   wins in Jashore6 by polls  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 9586651-58; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft