Thursday, 9 July, 2020, 7:34 AM
Home National

New Dhaka mayors, councillors take oath

Published : Thursday, 27 February, 2020 at 10:59 AM  Count : 251

New Dhaka mayors, councillors take oath

New Dhaka mayors, councillors take oath

The newly-elected mayors and councillors of Dhaka's two city corporations took oaths on Thursday.

The swearing-in ceremony held at the Prime Minister's Office at 10:30am.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oaths to mayors Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Atiqul Islam at the Shapla Hall while Local Government Minister Tajul Islam to councillors.

A total of 100 councillors — 75 general councillors from 75 wards and 25 women councillors from 25 reserved seats-were elected in DSCC, while 72 councillors— 54 general councillors from 54 wards and 18 women councillors from 18 reserved seats-in DNCC tool oaths.

But the new mayors and councillors will have to wait until mid-May to take over charge as the five-year tenure of the incumbent public representatives of DSCC will expire on May 17 while that of DNCC on May 13 next.

Road Transport and Bridges Minister and Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader and Local Government, Rural Development, Co-operatives Minister Md Tazul Islam and the newly elected mayors of Dhaka were also present on the dais.

The city corporations polls were held on February 1.

Awami League-backed candidates Taposh and Atiqul were elected mayors of Dhaka South and Dhaka North respectively.


Related Topics


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft