Thursday, 9 April, 2020, 10:24 PM
latest BB lowers policy rates again to increase money supply        Barguna's Amtali Upazila AL president dies, house on lockdown       PG Hospital's professor infected with coronavirus       Rajshahi Jail: Release of 500 prisoners recommended       Chandpur district under complete lockdown      
Home National

10 named for Independence Award

Published : Thursday, 20 February, 2020 at 9:45 PM  Count : 308

10 named for Independence Award

10 named for Independence Award

The government has picked nine renowned personalities and one organisation for highest state award ‘Swadhinata Padak-2020’ (Independence Award) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

The recipients are Golam Dastagir Gazi, MP, Commander Abdur Rouf (Posthumous), Md Anwar Pasha (Posthumous) and Azizur Rahman (Independence and Liberation War); Prof Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Prof  Dr AKMA Muqtadir (Medical Science); Bharateswari Homes (Education); SM Raij Uddin Ahmed (Literature); and Kalipada Das and Ferdousi Mazumder (Culture).

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the awards to them at a function in the city on March 25.

Since 1977, Bangladesh honours individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of the Independence Day.


Related Topics

Independence Award  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft