Tuesday, 26 May, 2020, 4:26 PM
Home Sports

Bangabandhu BPL 2019 kicks-off today

Chattogram meet Sylhet in opener, Cumilla take on Rangpur after dusk

Published : Wednesday, 11 December, 2019 at 12:00 AM  Count : 249
Sports Reporter

The game of the Bangabandhu BPL is going to roll on the pitch today. Chattogram Challengers will engage with Sylhet Thunders in the opening clash at 1:30pm (BST) while Cumilla Warriors will face Rangpur Rangers in the 2nd match of the day that will commence at 6:30pm. Home of Cricket, Mirpur will host both the matches.
CCs will come to fight sans their regular skipper Mahmudullah Riyad, who had sustained hamstring injury during the Pink Test at the Eden Gardens couple of weeks back and still accompanying that pain. He possibly will miss the next match against Rangpur as well. Chattogram also will miss their big man Chris Gayle in the large portion of group matches. Imrul Kayes however, will lead the side, who captained Comilla Victorians in the last season of the BPL that clinched the title.
Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddiqi, Nasir Hossain, Rayan Burl, Nurul Hasan Shohan and Muktar Ali still seemed a strong batting troop for CCs. They also have handy all-rounders like Kesrick Williams, Raiyad Emrit. Rubel Hossain, Enamul Jr. and Imad Wasim are the specialist bowlers.
STs on the other hand, are the underdogs in the tournament. But they have capabilities to win any game at a given day under the leadership of Mosaddek Hossain Saikat.
Aside local recruits namely Rony Talukder, Mohammad Mithun, Nayeem Hasan, Shohag Gazi, Ebadot Hossain and Nazmul Opu, Sylhet have quality overseas game changers like Mohammad Sami, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher and Jeevan Mendis.
However, Rangpur under new management that changed 24 hours before appearing in the clash, will come to fight under Afghan recruit Mohammad Nabi. Cricket Operations chairman of the BCB Akram Khan was the director of the RRs but BCB got 'Incepta Pharma' as the sponsor of Rangpur Rangers at the eleventh hour, which was supposed to be sponsored by the BCB itself.
With the new sponsor, RRs got Enayet Hossain Siraj as the new director as Akram Khan's replacement, who was the director of Rajshahi Royals. Akram's fate as director yet to declare!
Beside Nabi, Shai Hope, Chris Gregory and Cameron Delporte are the players from abroad in RRs tent while Mustafizur Rahman, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed made a bowling dominating unit for Rangpur. They also have new T20 sensation of Bangladesh Naim Sheikh along with veteran opener Jahurul Islam. Zakir Ali, Fazle Mahmud and Nadif Chowdhury also are the regular BPL performers in RR tent.
CWs under Dasun Sanaka's leadership have a mighty local combination with Soumya Sarkar, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Maidul Islam Ankon, Fardin Oni and Sabbir Rahman. Speedster Al Amin Hossain, Abu Hider Rony and Sumon Khan will get Afghan whirlwind Mujib-ur-Rahman in the bowling unit. Kushal Perera and Devid Malan are the T20 specialist all-rounders for Cumilla.
Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium generally offers sporting wickets so, toss winning skippers must prefer to bat first considering the dew factor with the progression of the day's game.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft