Friday, 7 August, 2020, 6:41 AM
Home National

PM distributes National Film Award among winners

Published : Sunday, 8 December, 2019 at 7:05 PM  Count : 203

PM distributes National Film Award among winners

PM distributes National Film Award among winners

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday distributed the prestigious National Film Award for the years 2017 and 2018 among its recipients.

She handed over the award at a colourful ceremony held at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC).

Eminent film actor ATM Shamsuzzaman and actress Salma Begum Sujata received the lifetime achievement award-2017 for their contributions to the film industry while actor, producer and director MA Alamgir and actor Prabir Mitra won the lifetime award for 2018.

“Dhaka Attack”, an action film thriller, won the best film award for 2017 while “Putro” the award for 2018.

Badrul Anam Soud was adjudged the best director for his film “Gohin Baluchar” for 2017 while Mustafizur Rahman Manik won the award for film ‘Jannat’ for 2018.

Shakib Khan and Mahbubul Arefin Shuvo were jointly named the best actors for their leading roles in film ‘Swatta’ and ‘Dhaka Attack’ respectively for 2017.

Ferdous Ahmed and Sadik Md Saiman (Saiman Sadik) received the award as best actors for ‘Putra’ and ‘Jannat’ movies respectively for 2018.

The best actress in leading role award 2017 went to Nusrat Imrose Tisha for film “Halda” while Joya Ahsan won the award for 2018 for her role in film “Debi”.

The best actor in supporting role award 2017 went to Md Shahadat Hossain for “Gahin Baluchar” while Ali Raz won the award for 2018 for “Jannat”.

The best supporting actress award for 2017 jointly went to Subarna Mustafa and Runa Khan for their films “Gahin Baluchar” and “Halda” while Sucharita won the award for 2018 for film ‘Meghkonya’.

Zahid Hasan received the award as the best villain in “Halda” for 2017 while Sadeq Bachchu won the award for 2018 for “Ekti Cinemar Golpo”.

M Farid Ahmed Hajra bagged the best music director’s award for the film “Tumi Robe Nirobe’ for 2017 while Iman Saha won the award for film “Jannat” for 2018.

Mahfuz Anam James was adjudged the best male singer for his song “Tor Premete Andho” in the film “Swatta” for 2017 while Naimul Islam Ratul won the award for his song “Jodi Dukkho Chhuye” in the film “Putra” for 2018.

Mamtaz Begum was adjudged the best female singer for her song “Na Jani Kon Aporadhe” in the film “Swatta” for 2017 while the award for 2018 jointly went to Sabina Yasmin for her song “Bhule Man Oviman’ in film “Putra” and Akhi Alamgir for her song “Golpo Kothar Oi” in film “Ekti Cinemar Golpo”.

In the best documentary category “Bishwa Anginai Amar Ekushey” was awarded the best film. Bangladesh Television also received award for it for 2017 while ‘Rajadhiraj Razzak’ was adjudged the best film for 2018. Faridur Reza Sagar was also awarded for it.

Modernising Movie Houses

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina assured all concerned that her government will extend all-out support for modernizing and digitalizing movie houses at district and upazila levels so that these could show the movies made with modern technologies.

"We’ve to give special attention to this so that movie houses in mufassil areas can operate well,” she said while addressing the function.

Hasina mentioned that the financial capability and purchasing capacity of people living at upazila and district levels have increased. "So, we need to ensure proper recreational facilities for them."

Hasina said one society can be known through its movies while any message can easily be delivered to a society through this medium.
"On one hand, movies can keep a society away from all the evil menaces and they can destroy a society on the other through spreading bad culture…all concerned need to remain alert in this regard," she said.

After the assassination of Father of the Nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, obscenity entered Bangladesh’s movies. "But, we’ve been able to come out of it gradually."

The Prime Minister said the government is preparing a law for providing certificates based on rating system changing the existing one. "Because we’ve to move on keeping pace with the fast-changing world…we’ve to take our every step with our eyes on that."

Sheikh Hasina urged all involved in film society to make movies based on life for the betterment of this society.

"Drugs, terrorism, militancy and corruption are affecting our society a lot, and the drive against these is going on…this is not possible to save a society only through a lawful drive. For this, we need to raise the spirit of people. And a film can play a big role in this regard,” she said.

Chaired by Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, the function was attended as special guests by State Minister for Information Dr Md Murad Hassan and Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information Ministry Hasanul Haq Inu.

Earlier in November, the names of the recipients of the National Film Award 2017 and 2018 were announced under 27 and 28 categories respectively.

The National Film Award is the highest recognition to those making contributions to movies in Bangladeshi.


Related Topics

National Film Award   PM Hasina  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 9586651-58; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft