Monday, 25 May, 2020, 11:04 AM
Home Sports

Bangladesh-India T20i series

Guests intend history today, hosts to stay alive

Published : Thursday, 7 November, 2019 at 12:00 AM  Count : 217
Sports Reporter

Mushfiqur Rahim during practice session.	photo: BCB

Mushfiqur Rahim during practice session. photo: BCB

Upbeat Bangladesh will take on frantic India today in the second of the three-match T20i series on Thursday at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Gujarat. Bangladesh tent is sanguine to write a history winning first ever T20i series against India at their home while hosts are desperate to level the series.
The underlight match is scheduled to commence at 7:30pm (BST) amidst threat of cyclone 'Maha'.
Bangladesh however, will hardly alter the winning combination that smashed away India by seven wickets in Delhi on Sunday if they don't get a drier pitch at Rajkot. Arafat Sunny can replace either of Shafiul Islam and Al-Amin Hossain, if they need any alternation in the playing eleven. Therefore, Naim Sheikh, who got Tigers cap on Sunday, will pair with Liton Das to open the innings and Soumya Sarkar will bat at three. Soumya was the second highest contributor in Bangladesh's win with 39 runs on November 7.  
Two senior most men in the squad Mushfiqur Rahim and skipper Mahmudullah will come at next respective positions to bat while Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain and Aminul Biplob gave Bangladesh a prolonged batting line-up.
Mustafizur Rahman, among Bangladesh bowlers was dimmed in the first match but he is undoubtedly the heart of Bangladesh bowling line-up and has potential to slit any team in a given day. His partner in quick troop Al-Amin Hossain was outstanding in terms of line and length though he didn't get a wicket while Shafiul Islam had couple of scalps but he had to struggle in finding proper delivery channel. Young leggy Aminul Biplob delivered more than the expectation on him. So, did the part-timers.
India on the other hand, are not at all satisfied with their bowling-unit and have possibility to revise the combination. Shardul Thakur is to succeed Khaleel Ahmed in the squad while Sanju Samson has possibility to swap Shivam Dube, who was blunt with bat and ball on debut in the starter of the series.

So, India are coming with even mightier batting line-up combining skipper Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant. Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Krunal Pandya and Washington Sundar will possibly be seen to bowl for India.
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium hosted two T20i matches before today with an average of 377 runs per game and merging IPL clashes, the pitch gives an average innings of 170 to 180 which means a run flood will be seen here if rain may not bar the game of cricket. There have possibility to shower in the early part of the day which might slow down out-field and toss winning side must prefer to chase here.
The last match of the series will take place on November 10 at Nagpur.  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft