Wednesday, 27 May, 2020, 3:13 PM
Home Sports

BFF initially select 26 footballers for FIFA, AFC Qualifiers against Qatar, India

Published : Tuesday, 17 September, 2019 at 9:24 PM  Count : 182

BFF initially select 26 footballers for FIFA, AFC Qualifiers against Qatar, India

BFF initially select 26 footballers for FIFA, AFC Qualifiers against Qatar, India

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) on Tuesday primarily selected 26 booters to form Bangladesh National Football team for their joint qualification (round 1) for the FIFA World Cup 2022 and AFC Asia Cup 2023 against Qatar and India.

Bangladesh will play Qatar in their home match on October 10 at Bangabandhu National Stadium here and will meet neighboring India in their away match on October 15 at Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

Three more players --goalkeeper Pappu Ahmed of Dhaka Mohammedan, midfielder Tawhidul Alam Sabuz of Bashundhara Kings and defender SM Monjurur Rahman of Sheikh Jamal DC have been included in the preliminary squad, in addition to 23 players of the Bangladesh squad against Afghanistan.  

Prior to the meet, national booters will make residential training camp at Bangabandhu National Stadium here from September 25, a BFF official told UNB on Tuesday.

Earlier, Bangladesh put Group E of the AFC Cup with Qatar, Oman, neighbouring India and Afghanistan.

Bangladesh started their joint qualification (Round-1) of the FIFA World Cup 2022 and AFC Asian Cup 2023 campaign with a 0-1 goal defeat against Afghanistan in their first match at the Central Republican Stadium in the Tajik capital Dushanbe on September 10.

In the remaining group matches, Bangladesh will play Oman on November 14 in Oman, Afghanistan on 26 March 2020 in Bangladesh, Qatar on March 31 in Qatar, India on June 4 in Bangladesh and Oman on June 9 in Bangladesh.

26-member Bangladesh squad: Shahidul Alam Sohel, Ashraful Islam Rana, Anisur Rahman, Pappu Ahmed (GK), Sushanto Tripura , Rahmat Mia , Yeasin Khan, Bishwanath Ghosh, Riyadul Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Tutul Hosain Badsha, SM Manjurur Rahman (DF)  Masuk Miah Zoni, Jamal Bhuiyan, Rabiul Hasan, Mamunul Islam Mamun, Sohel Rana, Biplu Ahamed, Arifur Rahman, Mohammad Ibrahim, Towhidul Alam Sabuz (MF), Mahbubur Rahman, Matin Miah, Nabib Newaz Jiban, Saad Uddin and Jewel Rana (FW).



Related Topics

Football team   FIFA World Cup 2022  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft