Sunday, 8 December, 2019, 9:36 PM
Home Sports

Taijul, Bijoy back in Bangladesh squad for Sri Lanka tour

Published : Tuesday, 16 July, 2019 at 4:25 PM  Count : 354

Taijul, Bijoy back in Bangladesh squad for Sri Lanka tour

Taijul, Bijoy back in Bangladesh squad for Sri Lanka tour

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday announced a 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match series against Sri Lanka.

Batsman Anamul Haque Bijoy and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam were included in the squad to replace Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das, who will miss this series for personal reasons.

This will be Tigers' first campaign after the world cup where they finished eighth. Bangladesh will fly to Sri Lanka on July 20.

Liton Das was also granted leave while pacer Abu Jayed Rahi could not find his place for the Sri Lanka ODI tour.

The three-match ODI series marked the return of Taijul Islam in the 50-over format after almost two years. He played his last ODI against Afghanistan in September 2016.

Bijoy played his last ODI against West Indies in 2018 in which he went through a series of low scores.

BSS adds: Shakib who was in tremendous form in the recent World Cup, scoring 606 runs with 11 wickets, earlier requested BCB not to consider him for the series, slating to be held from July 26 – 31 in Colombo.

BCB granted his plea as he is supposed to perform the ‘Holy Hajj’. Liton is expected to get married on July 28, a reason for which he wasn’t considered, while Jayed is recently included in the BCB A setup after completing his World Cup journey without getting any opportunity to play.

There was however injury concern over captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, senior players Mahmudullah Riyad and Mushfiqur Rahim but they are dimmed fit to play and included into the squad.

Taijul, considered as Test material, who played just four ODIs since his debut in 2014 is set to join the team in Sri Lanka straight from India, where he is playing for the BCB XI at the Dr (Capt) K Thimmappaiah Memorial Cricket Tournament.

He claimed 8-89 in drawn four-day match against Vidarbha Cricket Association.

Bijoy with 37 ODIs under his belt also scored 121 in the first innings of that match.

Bangladesh team

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Taijul Islam.


14-member squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mustafizur Rahman


Related Topics

Bangladesh squad   Sri Lanka tour  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft