Thursday, 9 July, 2020, 1:05 PM
latest
Home Don't miss

Tired of Google following you?

Published : Tuesday, 2 July, 2019 at 2:01 PM  Count : 419

Tired of Google following you?

Tired of Google following you?


A new functionality automatically clears your location data history so that Google can't track record of their physical movements from the Maps app.

The company has introduced new controls from the search engine to auto-delete after a chose period of time.

Users can choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved, three or 18 months, and any data older than that will be deleted on an ongoing basis.

In May, the company launched the ability to delete saved information automatically after a fixed period of time.

The feature initially only covered 'web and app activity', but now, Google has announced that it has gone further by covering location history.

Google tracks you in a myriad of ways and saves a permanent history of everything users search for, websites visited, other app activity and use of Google services.

Web and app activity collects your searches and browsing activity in Google apps such as Chrome as well as apps that use Google Services, such as mapping.

This is used to power previous searches and make suggestions; if you turn this off, your recent searches or personalised results won't come up.

However, turning this off doesn't block Google from knowing which sites you visit.

'You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you – and we're committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen,' Google said in a statement.

Users have always been able to 'pause' tracking in a settings page or they can manually clear the saved information using the Delete Activity page.

But if tracking is turned off entirely, some Google products and services no longer work, while deleting activity manually can be time consuming.

According to Google, users of the iOS and Android Google apps will start to see the setting as it rolls out in the near future, although it is not yet available on the web.

However, the company does not automatically delete voice recordings on Google Assistant, although users can opt out of storing that information.

They also have the option to manually delete recordings of their voices made by the Google Assistant.

Google recently published a declaration of how committed to user privacy in the home after it emerged that owners of the popular Google Nest Cam Indoor home security camera could be spied upon in their own home.  





The Nest spycam problem came to light when the gadget site Wirecutter published a report on how someone sold his Nest Cam Indoor and then discovered that he was 'still able to access images from his old camera.'

Daily Mail/GY



« PreviousNext »



Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft