Monday, 14 October, 2019, 9:14 AM
Home National

BNP candidate Siraj wins Bogura-6 by polls

Published : Monday, 24 June, 2019 at 10:14 PM  Count : 515
By Akhtaruzzaman

BNP candidate Siraj wins Bogura-6 by polls

BNP candidate Siraj wins Bogura-6 by polls

BNP-backed candidate Golam Mohammad Siraj won the by-polls to Bogura-6 constituency.

Returning Officer Mahbub Alam Shah announced the results after the completion of vote counting on Monday night.

Siraj bagged 89,742 votes while his nearest contestant Awami League-backed candidate T Zaman Niketa got 32,297 votes.
Jatiya Party candidate Nurul Islam Omar secured 7271 votes.

Earlier, the voting was held from 9.00 am to 5.00pm at 141 centres while there were about 3,87,458 eligible voters in the constituency. Electric voting machines (EVMs) were used in the polls.

There are 387,458 voters -- 191,668 males and 195,790 females - in the constituency.

The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the seat in the December 30 parliamentary election, did not take oath as MP within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft