Tuesday, 17 September, 2019, 8:35 AM
Home ICC World Cup 2019

Unbeaten teams look to spoil each other's perfect record

Published : Thursday, 13 June, 2019 at 12:41 PM  Count : 172

Unbeaten teams look to spoil each other's perfect record

Unbeaten teams look to spoil each other's perfect record

India and New Zealand are the only teams which are yet unbeaten in the World Cup 2019 but that is set to change as they meet in a crucial encounter in Nottingham on June 13. But with rain having already washed away 3 games in a week and the threat looming quite large on today's game too, the match could also turn into a damp squib.

But the way New Zealand beat India in the warm-up game must still be ringing in the minds of the Indian batsmen. Trent Boult led the way with 4 wickets as the Kiwi bowlers bundled out India for a mere 179, before chasing the target with 77 balls to spare. With overcast skies in Nottingham expected to aid swing bowling, India need to plan their batting plans accordingly.

Incidentally, the 2 teams are the only ones left in the World cup 2019 with no losses yet, but that will change, if rain allows, after today's game. While NZ are sitting pretty at the top of the points table with 3 wins from as many games, India have won both their games so far with little difficulty.

India must also be aware of their head-to-head record against the Kiwis in World Cup matches, which is 4-3 in favour of New Zealand. Not just this, but NZ's overall record in the biggest ICC tournament is also impressive as they are the team to have won the most WC matches after 5-time winners Australia.

Nonetheless, after their high beating the defending champions Australia in their last game, India must be feeling confident, a feeling that could have slightly mellowed down after last game's Player of the Match Shikhar Dhawan being ruled out due to a thumb injury. With a new opening combination expected in Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, it will be interesting to see who India go with at the crucial No. 4 spot.

Probable XIs:

India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

India Today/SU

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@dailyobserverbd.com, online@dailyobserverbd.com, news@dailyobserverbd.com, advertisement@dailyobserverbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft