Thursday, 9 July, 2020, 11:16 AM
Home Back Page

AL picks Zaman Niketa for Bogura-6 by-polls

Published : Monday, 20 May, 2019 at 12:00 AM  Count : 820

Awami League has picked its Bogura district unit Joint Secretary T Zaman Niketa for contesting the Bogura-6 by-election on party ticket. "We've chosen T Zaman Niketa for the Bogura-6 by-polls from our party," AL Joint Secretary Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif told journalists on Sunday. The decision came from a meeting of Awami League Parliamentary Nomination Board held at the Prime Minister's official residence Ganobhaban with Prime Minister and AL President Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on April 30 declared the Bogura-6 constituency vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as MP or seek time before the deadline expired.
The Election Commission has announced that fresh polls will be held to Bogura-6 constituency on June 24.

The last date for submitting nomination papers is May 23 and candidates will be able to withdraw nominations by June 3. The nomination papers will be scrutinised on May 27. The symbols will be allocated among the candidates on June 4. Although Fakhrul refrained from taking oath, five other BNP MPs, however, were sworn in to the 11th parliament.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, 01552319639, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft