Friday, 7 August, 2020, 6:11 AM
Home Sports

Tigers need 293-run to win

Published : Wednesday, 15 May, 2019 at 7:29 PM  Count : 291

Tigers need 293-run to win

Tigers need 293-run to win

Ireland scored 292 runs for 8 in 50 overs against Bangladesh in their second match in the ongoing tri nation series at the Clontarf Cricket Club ground in Dublin on Wednesday.

For Bangladesh, Abu Jayed was outstanding, he picked up wickets in the slog overs which derailed Ireland’s progress to some extent otherwise at one point hosts were looking good to post a score in excess of 310.

Stirling made 130 off 141 balls as he played the role of the enforcer through the first Powerplay, controlled the scoring in the middle overs and then again went after the bowling at the death. The only man to resist Ireland was Abu Jayed, who took 5 for 58 in his second ODI.

Stirling, who was Jayed's fourth wicket in the 47th over, was helped on the way by captain William Porterfield, whose 94 was his first half-century since March 2018. They added 174 in a record third-wicket stand for Ireland. It was a pivotal stand that took the home side to the above-average total.

ESPNcricinfo adds: Bangladesh also contributed to Ireland's big score by dropping Stirling twice off successive balls at the start of the third-wicket stand. They had also picked Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain and Rubel Hossain to have a final look at their form and fitness before the World Cup, although Jayed stood out; he is the first Bangladesh pace bowler to take a five-for in ODIs since November 2015.

It was, however, Rubel who gave Bangladesh the first breakthrough, when he forced James McCollum to be caught at slip one ball after Stirling had slammed him for a huge six over long-on, in the fourth over.

Andrew Balbirnie struck four boundaries early in his innings, taking off from where he had finished during his 135 against West Indies in the previous game, but just when he had unfurled a beautiful shot off Abu Jayed, the seamer had him strangled down the leg side, Mushfiqur completing the grab. But replays were not conclusive, and Balbirnie looked distraught.

But Stirling, who had struck two fours and two sixes till that point, didn't let Bangladesh settle down as he reached a second consecutive fifty. Soon afterwards, he was dropped twice in consecutive balls too, on 57 and 58, when Sabbir Rahman, racing in from long-off, couldn't hold on to an inside-out drive. Next ball, Mohammad Saifuddin dropped a sitter at point off Shakib.

Porterfield, going through his own demons, then took a liking to Shakib, as he struck him for a boundary in each of his next four overs. But it wasn't until Stirling reached his century, in the 42nd over, did they go after Bangladesh's bowling.

Porterfield cracked Mashrafe for two big sixes over midwicket, and a four through cover, in the 43rd over, before slapping Jayed straight down sweeper cover's throat in the 45th over, six short of his century. Jayed had removed Kevin O'Brien earlier in the over, before getting Gary Wilson's wicket to complete his five-wicket haul.

Saifuddin, having recovered from a slight back injury, took two wickets in the last over as Ireland couldn't quite reach the 300-run mark, which would have given them a psychological boost. But the 98 runs the hosts picked up in the last ten overs would keep the momentum with them.

The match became a formality as Bangladesh have already confirmed a place in the final against West Indies, which is slated to be played on May 17 at the Village, Dublin.

Bangladesh won their both of the games against West Indies in comprehensive manner while their first match against Ireland was washed out without a ball being bowled due to heavy rain.

They, however, aim to win the reverse fixture against Ireland to keep them unbeaten ahead of the final.

West Indies won their both of the games against Ireland but proved them to be no match for Bangladesh so far.

Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Mahmudullah Riyad, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza(captain), Sabbir Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mosaddek Hossain and Mohammad


Paul Stirling, James McCollum, Andy Balbirnie, William Porterfield (captain), Kevin O’Brien, Mark Adair, Gary Wilson (wicket-keeper), George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Barry McCarthy and Josh Little.


Related Topics

Ireland   Bangladesh  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 9586651-58; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft