Tuesday, 23 April, 2019, 6:20 AM
Home Sports

Mashrafe leads Tigers in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

No surprise in Bangladesh squad but Rahi

Imrul, Taskin unnamed; Mosaddek called in

Published : Wednesday, 17 April, 2019 at 12:00 AM  Count : 120
Sports Reporter

                Imurl Kayes

Imurl Kayes

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-man Bangladesh squad on Tuesday ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be taken place from May 30 to July 14 in England and Wales.
Chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu pronounced the names in a press conference at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur accompanying Cricket Operations chairman Akram Khan, Media Wing chairman Jalal Younus and selector Habibul Bashar.
Shakib Al Hasan named deputy of Mashrafe Bin Mortaza. Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman and Mahmudullah Riyad are the seven specialist batsmen in Tigers World Cup troop while Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Abu Jayed Rahi are the four specialist pacemen accompanying solitary specialist spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz to combine Bangladesh bowling unit.
           Mosaddek Hossain

Mosaddek Hossain

Shakib Al Hasan and Mosaddek Hossain Shaikat are the spinning all-rounders and Mohammad Shaifuddin is the lone pace bowling all-rounder in the squad where Mushfiqur Rahim will be backed up by Mohammad Mithun and Liton Das as wicketkeeper.
Among the 15 members 13 were presumable except Mosaddek and Rahi. The last name earned his maiden ODI call, who represented red and greens in five Tests and three T20i matches and claimed 15 international wickets.  
Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Shaifuddin, Mehidy Miraz and Abu Jayed Rahi will sail for World Cup dream for the first time.
            Taskin Ahmed

Taskin Ahmed

However, the decision created storm among many is the exclusion of Imurl Kayes. The left handed batsman failed to catch the attention of Bangladesh think tank despite his consistency under national flag. Chief selector explained the left right combination is the reason behind such elimination.  
Another name, who has been heard loud for Tigers camp after BPL shine, was Taskin Ahmed. The highest wicket taker for Bangladesh in Australia World Cup in 2015 has been unconsidered for fitness.
The BCB was supposed to declare the squad on April 18 but they changed their mind and publicized the squad on Tuesday. All the 10 teams, who will partake in the World Cup, need to announce the squad by April 23. Any alteration is possible within May 23 but for injury only.
Bangladesh will start their World Cup mission from the Kia Oval on June 2 with the match against South Africa immediate after the tri series in Ireland accompanying hosts and the Windies.
          Abu Jayed Rahi

Abu Jayed Rahi

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain Shaikat, Mohammad Shaifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed Rahi.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@dailyobserverbd.com, online@dailyobserverbd.com, news@dailyobserverbd.com, advertisement@dailyobserverbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft