Monday, 18 November, 2019, 7:15 AM
Home Front Page

17 bank owners now MPs

One made opposition leader, two ministers

Published : Sunday, 13 January, 2019 at 12:00 AM  Count : 773
Jibon Islam

A total of 17 chairmen and directors of various banks have been elected in the 11th Parliament in the election held on December 30 last year. Of those, two made ministers - Golam Dastagir Gazi and Tajul Islam - were elected MP while they were leading Jamuna Bank as directors while present opposition leader HM Ershad was the director of Union Bank.
As per rules, after getting the new position as minister or Opposition Leader in the House, they have already resigned from the positions in the banks.
HM Ershad, one of the founding directors of Union Bank, has been appointed as opposition leader in the Parliament on January 7 this year. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury has given him the recognition officially sending a letter on January 10.
Textile and Jute Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi and Local Government and Rural Development Minister Tajul Islam had served as chairman of Jamuna Bank. Both of them were serving as the director of the bank when      they were given new assignment in the existing government.
Dhaka-1 MP Salman F Rahman is the chairman of IFIC Bank and Vice Chairman of Beximco Group. Sheikh Fazle Nur Taposh and Didarul Alam are the directors of Madhumoti Bank and HN Asiqur Rahman is the chairman of Meghna Bank.
Kazi Sirajul Islam is a former chairman and director of Prime Bank, BH Haroon and Abdus Salam Murshedy are the directors of Premier Bank and Murshed Alam had served as a chairman and presently serving as director of Mercantile Bank.
AKM Anamul Haque is an independent director of National Bank, Anowar Hossain Khan is a director of Shahjalal Islami Bank, Abdul Mannan is a vice chairman of Export Import Bank (Exim Bank) and Mohammad Shahid Islam is a director of NRB Commercial Bank Ltd.
Former Senior Secretary Manzur Hossain is now serving as chairman of Rupali Bank, Mohammad Ismail is the chairman of Bangladesh Krishi Bank and Salima Ahmad is a director Sonali Bank.
Premier Bank Director Abdus Salam Murshedy told the Daily Observer that not only the bank owners or bankers, some other professional persons were also elected MPs in the new Parliament.
"Don't see who is who among the MPs, look at what they are doing for their areas or not," he added.
Executive Director of Transparency International Bangladesh (TIB) Dr Iftekharuzzaman told the Daily Observer, "Around 70 per cent of the new MPs of 11th Parliament are businessmen while the number was 58 per cent in the previous Parliament. The businessmen MPs always try to expand their businesses using their influences."
The businessmen MPs always influence the government in taking any policy decisions to protect their interests. They will never allow the government to take a decision which may conflict with their interests, he added.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft