Tuesday, 18 June, 2019, 6:41 AM
Home Sports

Victorians earn easy win over Kings

Published : Friday, 11 January, 2019 at 11:23 PM  Count : 343

Victorians earn easy win over Kings

Victorians earn easy win over Kings

Comilla Victorians earned their third win of the sixth season of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Friday beating Rajshahi Kings by five wickets at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

While replying to Kings' 127, Comilla lost five wickets to reach the target (130/5) in 18.4 overs. Anamul Haque Bijoy struck 40 off 32 balls for the Victorians with four fours and one six, which remained Comilla's best knock.

Bijoy and Evin Lewis added 65 runs in the opening stand which helped the Victorians to earn the win with eight balls to play. Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Qais Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman took one wicket each for Rajshahi.

Earlier, despite a firm batting show of captain Mehidhy Hasan Miraz while opening for the first time in BPL, the Kings posted 124 all-out in 18.5 overs.

Imrul Kayes, who led Comilla Victorians in the absence of Steve Smith, won the toss and decided to bowl first. The decision came as a blessing for Comilla who took two wickets of Rajshahi in 20 runs.

Rajshahi captain Miraz opened the innings for his team with Mominul Haque. But they managed only 20 runs in the first wicket stand. Mominul (3) was the first man to get dismissed. Mohammad Saifuddin took the wicket of Mominul, and in the very next ball, he dismissed Soumya Sarkar (0) who is struggling to live up to the expectations in the BPL.

Rajshahi lost three wickets at 53 runs when Pakistan star Shahid Afridi came to the action. He took two wickets in successive two balls removing Mehidy Hasan (30) and Laurie Evans (0) after Liam Dawson removed Mohammad Hafeez (16).

Eventually, Rajshahi tumbled for 124 runs after Isuru Udana scored 32 at number nine which remained Kings' best knock in the match.

Shahid Afridi took three wickets for 10 runs in four overs while Abu Hider Rony, Liam Dawson and Mohammad Saifuddin bagged two wickets each for the Victorians.

Comilla Victorians will play their next match against Chittagong Vikings on January 13 at 6:30pm while Rajshahi will face off Rangpur Riders on the same day at 1:30pm. Both of the matches will be played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@dailyobserverbd.com, online@dailyobserverbd.com, news@dailyobserverbd.com, advertisement@dailyobserverbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft