Wednesday, 19 June, 2019, 9:10 PM
New Zealand need 242 to beat South Africa
Home Election 2018

No MP elect to take oath, no division in alliance: Oikyafront

Published : Sunday, 6 January, 2019 at 3:28 PM  Count : 623

No MP elect to take oath, no division in alliance: Oikyafront

No MP elect to take oath, no division in alliance: Oikyafront

None of the Oikyafront parliament member elected in the 11th general election is going to take oath, confirmed by its member secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu.

"Dr Kamal Hossain's comment was misquoted in some media. Press release has already been sent to the media to clarify the matter," he told reporters after a meeting of the top alliance leaders at Dr Kamal Hossain’s Motikheel chamber on Sunday.

Dr Kamal never mentioned that two Gono Forum MPs would take oath, he added.

About Kamal’s comment ‘thinking positively’ the Oikyafront leader said, “Thinking positively does not mean the decision of taking oath.” Fresh programme will be announced by Oikyafront tomorrow (Monday) or the day after  tomorrow," he added.

Replying to a question over 'possible division' in Oikyafront, another component JSD president ASM Abdur Rab said, “There is no question of split in Oikyafront. The alliance has been formed to protect the public interest and democracy as well.”

Earlier on Saturday, Gano Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain hinted that newly elected two parliament members (MPs) of his party Gono Forum may take oath and join parliament.

“We’ve rejected the election, but the way our two candidates came out successful in such an election through competition is their big achievement. So, we’re thinking positively about sending them to Parliament,” Dr Kamal said at a press conference at Bangladesh Shishu Kalyan Parishad after an extended meeting of the party.

Oikyafront Convenor Dr Kamal Hossain, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury, Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna, Gono Forum Executive President Subrata Chowdhury and Krishak Sramik Janata League President Abdul Kader Siddique, among others, present at the meeting.


Related Topics

No   rift   no   MP   elect   will   take   oath   Oikyafront  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft