Saturday, 31 July, 2021, 10:35 AM
Home Election 2018

AL-BNP face-off in 227 seats

Published : Saturday, 29 December, 2018 at 8:59 PM  Count : 694

AL-BNP face-off in 227 seats

AL-BNP face-off in 227 seats

The voting battle of 11th parliamentary elections is set to be held on Sunday from 8.00am. Though this is the contest of alliances, but ruling Awami League will face BNP in 227 constituencies across the country. Among the constituencies, tough battles are expected in few heavy weight candidates' seats.

According to the Election Commission’s list, which finalized a total of 299 candidates in the election, AL will contest in 260 seats while its grand alliance will contest in 272 seats. In addition, Jatiya Party fielded its candidates in 175 seats.

BNP-lead Jatiya Oikyafront fielded its candidates in 283 seats. Sixteen candidates of this alliance were disqualified for contest.

Due to the death of a Oikya Front candidate Fazle Rabbi, the EC has re-scheduled the voting date of the Gaibandha-3 constituency to January 27.

BNP extended its support to few independent candidates in its nil seats. BNP will vie for 257 seats in the election beside unregistered Jamaat-e-Islami and Nagorik Oikya contesting with common symbol ‘Sheaf of Paddy’. A total of 283 candidates will vie in the contest with the symbol.

In addition Col (retd) Oli Ahmed, chairman of the Liberal Democratic Party, will take part in the race with ‘Umbrella’ symbol from Chattogram-24 constituency.

A total of 1,861 candidates are vying for the polls. Among them, 1,733 are from political parties and 128 independents.

A total of 10, 42, 38,677 voters, including 5, 25, 72,365 male and 5,16,66,312 female, will cast their votes at 206,477 polling booths of the 40,183 voting centers in 299 constituencies across the country.

The EC will take votes using Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) at all polling booths in six constituencies for the first time. The constituencies are- Dhaka-6 and 13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3, Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2.

In compliance with new electoral rules, a total of 39 registered political parties are contesting the polls.

About 608,000 members of law enforcement agencies, 66 returning officers, will perform their responsibilities to conduct the election across the country.

A total of 4,0183 presiding officers, 20, 7,312 assistant presiding officers and 4,14,624 polling officers have been appointed for conducting the election while about 1,328 executive magistrates will be deployed and 640 judicial magistrates will work in 122 electoral inquiry committees during the polls.


Related Topics

AL   BNP   face   off   227   seats  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone: PABX 223353467, 223353481-2; Online: 9513959; Advertisement: 9513663.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft