Thursday, 22 August, 2019, 5:12 PM
Home Election 2018

80 regain nomination, 76 rejected after appeal

Published : Thursday, 6 December, 2018 at 8:45 PM  Count : 416

80 regain nomination, 76 rejected after appeal

80 regain nomination, 76 rejected after appeal

As much as 80 aspirants regained candidature as the Election Commission allowed them to compete in the parliamentary polls after hearing their appeals against rejected nominations.

The candidates who are cleared for the December 30 election include more than 35 from the BNP, according to EC officials. The EC heard 543 appeals on the first day on Thursday, reports

The commission rejected 76 out of the 160 appeals it heard and kept the four others pending, EC spokesman SM Asaduzzaman said.

Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda, Election Commissioner Mahbub Talukdar, Rafiqul Islam, Kabita Khanam and Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury heard the appeals from 10am on the 11th floor of the commission’s building in Dhaka.

Among those cleared on Thursday is ex-Awami League MP Golam Maula Rony. He is vying for the Patuakhali-3 seat with the BNP’s ticket this time.

The returning officer rejected his nomination papers during scrutiny on Dec 2 for not having his signature on the affidavit.

“The commission has revived nomination of a number of our candidates. Now our satisfaction depends on that of Khaleda Zia,” said BNP leader AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon, who represented Rony in the hearing.

The returning officers rejected the nominations of BNP chief Khaleda for three seats as the constitution bars anyone sentenced to more than two years in prison from elections.

The former prime minister is serving 17 years in prison in two corruption cases. She wants to contest for Feni-1, Bogura-6 and Bogura-7 constituencies.

BNP candidates who regained nominations are Morshed Milton (Bogura-7), Md Abdul Wahab (Jhenidah-1), Tamiz Uddin (Dhaka-20), Akhtaruzzaman (Kishoreganj-2), Golam Maula Rony (Patuakhali-3), Abdul Majid (Jhenidah-2), Khandaker Abu Ashfaq (Dhaka-1), Syed Zahangir Alam (Dinajpur-3), Faridul Kabir Talukder Shamim (Jamalpur-4), Md Shahjahan (Patuakhali-3), Abdul Qaiyum ((Sylhet-3), Fazlur Rahman (Joypurhat-1), Md Hasadul Islam (Pabna-3), Abidur Rahman Khan (Manikganj-2), Md Ainal Haque (Sirajganj-3), SA Shafiqul Alam (Khulna-6), Md Joynal Abedin (Mymensingh-7), AKM Mokhlesur Rahman (Sherpur-2),  Nurul Amin (Chattogram-1), Mohammad Yunus (Cumilla-5), Mostafa Kamal Pasha (Chattogram-3), Mohammad Rafiqul Islam (Gaibandha-3), Md Selim Bhuiyan (Dhaka-5), Mujibul Haque (Cumilla-3), Mohammad Tozammel Haque (Manikganj-1), Ahammed Tayebur Rahman (Mymensingh-3), Abu Saif (Brahmanbaria-2), Farhad Hossain Azad (Panchagarh-2), md Ataur Rahman (Manikganj-3), Syed Abu Bakr Siddique (Dhaka-14), Abdul Khalek (Kurigram-3), Md Aminul Haque (Rajshahi-1), Md Hanif (Dinajpur-1), Ershad Ullah (Chattogram-8), Abdullah Al Mamun (Sirajganj-5), Abdul Aziz (Natore-4), MA Muhith (Sirajganj-6), and Major (retired) Manzur Quader (Sirajganj-5).

Independent candidates who regained nominations are Md Abu Bakr Siddique (Mymensingh), Mohammad Mokhlesur Rahman (Brahmanbaria-2), Mahbub Alam (Laxmipur-1), Moazzem Hossain (Barishal-2), Ashraf Uddin (Brahmanbaria-2), Mohammad Asaduzzaman (Rangpur-1), Mohammad Abu Zafar (Gaibandha-3), Mohammad Yunus Ali (Kurigram-4), Mohammad Anisuzzaman (Barishal-2), Faizul Munir Chowdhury (Sylhet-5), Abdur Rahim Sarker (Gaibandha-4), Mohammad Zahirul Islam (Chattogram-16), and Mohammad Abdur Rouf Mondal (Bogura-5).

Other party candidates who regained nominations are Md Afsar Ali (JSD) Satkhira-2, Sumon Sannamat (National People's Party) Patuakhali-1, Zahirul Islam Mintu (Madaripur-1), Md Mahbub Alam and Md Joynal Abedin (Jatiya Party) Gazipur-2, Jesmin Noor Nabi (Jatiya Party) Brahmanbaria-3, Mostafa Selim (Rangpur-4), Zubair Ahmed (Bangladesh Islamic Front) Habiganj-1, Abdullah Al Helal (Jatiya Party) Brahmanbaria-3, Mawlana Mohammad Solaiman Khan Rabbani (Bangladesh Islamic Front) Habiganj-4,  Mohammad Alauddin Mridha (Jatiya Party) Natore-4), Mohammad Neyamul Boshar (LDP) Chandpur-5), Shah Alam (Zaker Party) Kurigram-4, Kamruzzaman Swadhin (Jatiya Party) Jhenidah-3, Syed Anor Ahammed Liton (Islamic Andolon Bangladesh) Brahmanbaria-3, Mamunur Rashid (Jatiya Party) Brahmanbaria-5, Zakir Hossain (Zaker Party) Dhaka-14, MA Bashar (LDP) Mymensingh-8, Mahfuzur Rahman (Gono Forum) Kurigram-4, Muhammad Faisal Bin Shalik (Zaker Party) Kurigram-6, Anisur Rahman (JSD) Chattogram-10, Tazul Islam Babul (Zaker Party) Cumilla-11, Md Shah Alam (Islami Oikyajote) Cumilla-5, Saiduzzaman (Zaker Party) Jashore-6, Fakir Shawkat Ali (JSD) Narail-2, Abdur Rahman (Islami Andolon Bangladesh) Sirajganj-4, Md Habibur Rahman (Bangladesh Muslim League) Sirajganj-6, and Shafiqul Islam (BML) Bogura-2.  


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft