Tuesday, 15 October, 2019, 2:38 AM
Home National

New mayors Liton, Ariful take oath

Published : Wednesday, 5 September, 2018 at 12:30 PM  Count : 519

New mayors Liton, Ariful take oath

New mayors Liton, Ariful take oath

Newly elected Rajshahi Mayor AHM Khairuzzman Liton and Sylhet Mayor Ariful Haque Chowdhury were sworn in on Wednesday.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oath at a ceremony held at the Shapla Hall of her office.

At the same time, 76 newly elected councillors from general wards and reserved seats of the two city corporations took oath. Of them, 40 councillors are from Rajshahi City Corporation and 36 from Sylhet City Corporation.

Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Khandker Mosharraf Hossain administered the oath to the councillors.

The oath-taking ceremony was conducted by Local Government Division Senior Secretary Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan.

Finance Minister AMA Muhith and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader were, among other, present in the ceremony.

The elections to Rajshahi City Corporation and Sylhet City Corporation were held on July 30 last.

Related Topics

New   mayors   Liton   Ariful   take   oath  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@dailyobserverbd.com, online@dailyobserverbd.com, news@dailyobserverbd.com, advertisement@dailyobserverbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft