Space For Rent
Monday, March 14, 2016, Falgun 31, 1422 BS, Jamadius Sani 4, 1437 Hijri

JSD factions blame either for split
Anaet Shawon
Published :Monday, 14 March, 2016,  Time : 12:00 AM  View Count : 34
The factions of Jatyia Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) led by Hasanul Haq Inu blamed each other for
the split.
According to party sources Hasanul Haq Inu's alleged dictatorship, financial dishonesty and erosions of party ethics sparked criticism for his bid to choose Shirin Akhter as general secretary "without a vote".
Both the factions claimed that majority portion of Standing Committee Members belongs to their side. President of a faction Sharif Nurul Ambia, claimed that four parliament members among six belong to their side but Lutfa Taher and A.K.M. Rezaul Karim Tansen are yet to confirm their decision. Both the lawmakers denied commenting on the topic.
When asked about any chances of returning under one umbrella Ambia said there is no last word in politics.
The sources said Colonel Taher's brother Anwar Hossain instigated the splitting when former DUCSU leader Mushtuq Husain planned it.
The rebel group protested against former student leader Shirin for being awarded as general secretary of the party. It cannot be approved by its constitution.
Rebel group supporter complained that the Inu supporters ignored the norms and elected Shirin through a "voice vote".
"Inu's associates physically assaulted rebel group when they demanded balloting and forced them to leave the conference room," he blamed.
"It was clear breach of announcement which prompted party men to declare a counter-committee," Sharif Nurul Ambia said adding that they will announce a full-fledged committee very soon.
Moin Uddin Khan Badal, executive president of the faction alleged that JSD split shows an autocratic behavior of Inu and his special favor for newly elected General Secretary Shirin Akter. There are allegations against him for financial dishonesty and erosions of party ethics "It is repercussion of long awaited anger," Badal added.
Inu continuously breached party constitution using ministerial power, Badal said, "None can assume President ship of the party more than one time but he enjoyed the position three times and none can take such position if he or she involved in executive bodies like government."
Hasanul Haq Inu said, "There is no scope for forming committee without holding any council and it is a clear breaching of constitution."
Calling upon the rebel group to return to the party, Inu said, "They will be accepted again with honour."
Refuting all allegations against him, Inu said, "He has nothing to do as the councilors took the decision according to constitution."
Besides, both the factions' leaders said they will extend their support to 14-party but Awami League leaders were not interested to comment.
Awami League Presidium Member and spokesman of the 14-party alliance, Mohammad Nasim denied commenting on the issue saying it is the internal matter of JSD.
But sources in AL said, "If JSD is not brought under one umbrella then 14-party will become 15-party."
"If they failed to unite, their lawmakers will have to suffer to hold on to their parliament membership," sources added.
Earlier on Saturday, JSD split into two factions during its national council with a group rebelling faction announced Sharif Nurul Ambia and Nazmul Haque Prodhan as president and general secretary. Moin Uddin Khan Badal made the announcement remaining himself as the executive president.
Born as JSD in 1972 the party have split a few times with its several factions still active under different names.
During Zia's rule, JSD split up twice. The party fragmented again during the regime of military dictator H M Ershad in the 1980s, with ASM Abdur Rab and Shahjahan Siraj heading two separate factions. At that time Moin Uddin Khan Badal also formed another JSd.
After BNP came to power, Shahjahan Siraj merged his party with it while Badal returned to Inu's JSD. Meanwhile, Inu, who became MP after winning elections as a grand alliance nominee with AL's boat as his symbol in 2008, was made minister.

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]