Space For Rent
Sunday, February 21, 2016, Falgun 9, 1422 BS, Jamadiul Awwal 10, 1437 Hijri

Polls in 41 Pirojpur unions Mar 22
Our Correspondent
Published :Sunday, 21 February, 2016,  Time : 12:00 AM  View Count : 19
PIROJPUR, Feb 20: Countrywide union parishad (UP) election schedule has been declared by the Election Commission. In the first phase, the election will be held in 41 unions out of 52 under seven upazilas of the district on March 22.
Major political parties are busy to nominate their respective candidates. Bangladesh Awami League and Bangladesh Nationalist party (BNP) have already started the process of finalising candidates. Upazila committees are working in this connection.
Professor Alamgir Hossain, general secretary of district committee and central leader of BNP and Sheikh Firoj Ahmed, office secretary of Awami League, said the upazila committees will propose probable candidates and after that district committee will recommend to the central election committee for final approval of the candidates.    
On the other hand, smaller parties are actively working at grassroots level to search out probable candidates.
Jatiya Party (Ershad), Jatiya Party (JP), Jatiya Party (Jafor), Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB), Workers' Party, Islami Andolon Bangladesh, and Jaker Party sources confirmed their participation in the election.
The unions where the election is going to be held are: Kadamtala, Kalakhali, Sariktala-Dumiritala and Tona under Pirojpur Sadar upazila;
Balipara in Zianagar upazila; Malikhali, Matibhanga, Nazirpur Sadar, Sheikh Matia, Shakharikathi, Shreeramkathi under Nazirpur upazila;
Amrajhuri, Chirapara-Parsaturia, Kawkhali Sadar, Sainaraghunathpur, and Shialkathi under Kawkhali upazila; Atghorkuriana, Boldia, Daihari, Guarekha, Jalabari, Samudayakathi, Sarengkathi, Shohagdal, Sutiakathi, and Swarupkathi under Nesarabad upazila; Bhitabaria, Dawa, Gouripur, Ekri and Telekhali under Bhandaria upazila; Amragachhia, Boro Machhua, Betmorerajpara, Daudkhali, Dhanishapa, Haltagulishkhali, Mirukhali, Sapleja, Tikekata and Tuskhali under Mathbaria upazila.

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]