Sunday, December 20, 2015, Poush 6, 1422 BS, Rabiul Awal 7, 1437 Hijri

Mashrafe wins 'Kool-BSPA Real Sportsman Award'
Sports Reporter
Published :Sunday, 20 December, 2015,  Time : 12:00 AM  View Count : 20
Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) awarded the best sportsmen of 2013 and 2014 on Saturday at the National Sports Complex Auditorium. And Bangladesh National Cricket team ODI skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza won 'Kool-BSPA Real Sportsman Award' which is launched from this year.
The planning minister of Bangladesh AHM Mustafa Kamal handed over the crests and certificates to the winners of different disciplines.
To find the Kool-BSPA Real Sportsman, the jury board of BSPA nominated five sportsmen, cricketer Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mushfiqur Rahim, footballer Mamunul Islam and golfer Siddikur Rahman. BSPA published the names at the official for public voting. And Mashrafe won the award getting the highest numbers of vote. The maiden Test centurion in inaugural Test of Bangladesh Aminul Islam Bulbul and the former president of BSAP Raqibul Hasan handed over the award to Mashrafe.
Mashrafe thanked all for voting him and urged all the sportsmen to contribute their best for the country from their own position.
Mashrafe also informed he will tour Thailand with family to observe vacation.
The president of BSPA Hasan Ullah Khan Rana presided over the programme while BSPA general secretary Sanat Babla and head of marketing of Square Toiletries Limited Malik Mohammed Sayeed were also present in the programme.
Winner of 2013: Mushfiqur Rahim (Sportsman of the year, S A Mohsin Trophy), Sohag Gazi (best cricketer), Mamunul Islam (best footballer), Emdadul Haque Milon (best archer ), Mahfuzur Rahman (best swimmer), Fahad Rahman (best chess player), Zahura Akter (best weight lifter), Maruful Haque (best coach, football), Kazi Mahtab Uddin (best organiser, posthumous ), Exim Bank Limited (best patroniser), Mominul Haque (best emerging player, cricket) and Golam Sarwar Tipu (special honorarium).
Winner of 2014: Abdullah Hel Baki  (Sportsman of the year, S A Mohsin Trophy), Mushfiqur Rahim (best cricketer), Nasiruddin Chowdhury (best footballer), Hasan Jubaer Niloy (best hockey player ), Golam Rabbani Choton (best coach, football), Manzur Kader (best organiser), First Security Islami Bank Limited (best patroniser), Hemanta Vincent Biswas (best emerging footballer) and Muriel Gomez (special honorarium).

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]