Sunday, December 13, 2015, Agrahayan 29, 1422 BS, Safar 30, 1437 Hijri

5 DU teachers and 17 students get Dean's Award
DU Correspondent
Published :Sunday, 13 December, 2015,  Time : 12:00 AM  View Count : 16
A total of 17 students from various departments under the Faculty of Science of Dhaka University (DU) have been awarded 'Dean's Award' for their outstanding academic results in BS (Hon's) examination of 2013.
Besides, 5 teachers of the faculty have received Dean's Award for their extraordinary contribution to original research and books writing.
DU Vice Chancellor (VC), Prof Dr AAMS Arefin Siddique distributed the certificates among the awardees as the chief guest at a function held at Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the university on last Wednesday.
Awardees teachers are Prof Shapla Shirin of Mathematics, Prof Dr Mohammad Abul Hossain of Chemistry, Associate Prof Dr Md Abdus Salam Akanda of Statistics, Biostatistics and Informatics, Assistant Prof Dr Md Anamul Haque of Chemistry and Assistant Prof Md Mahfuzur Rahman Khokan of Statistics, Biostatistics and Informatics, departments.
Awardees students are Armin Anwar (Physics), Khadija Khatun, Faizunnesa Khondaker, Farhana Akond Pramy, and Md Rabiul Awal (Mathematics), Md Saiful Islam and Md Amjad Hossain (Chemistry), Mirajul Islam, Nasrin Sultana, Najiba Akter, Ashis Talukder, and Zergina Zakir (Statistics, Biostatistics & Informatics), Md Tuhin Sheikh, Tahmina Akter, Sylvi Pinky Chakrabarty, Shajratul Alam and Farha Ferdous Sheela (Applied Statistics).
Dr AAMS Arefin Siddique urged the brilliant students to be responsible to the family, society, nation as well as the university. He also said that students have to prepare themselves with the combination of higher education, innovative thought and the spirit of Liberation War.
Dean of the Faculty of Science, Prof Dr Mohammed Abdul Aziz presided over the function while Pro-vice-chancellor (Academic), Prof Dr Nasreen Ahmad, Pro-vice-chancellor (Administration), Prof Dr Shahid Akhtar Hossain, and Treasurer, Prof Dr Md Kamal Uddin, of DU, addressed it as the special guests. Chairperson of the Department of Physics, Prof Dr Nasima Ferdous delivered the welcome speech.

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]