Space For Rent

Space For Rent
Saturday, March 21, 2015, Chaitra 7, 1421 BS, Jamadi ul Awwal 29, 1436 Hijr

AL nominates AJM Nasir as CCC Mayor
15 poll panels for Dhaka
Published : Saturday, 21 March, 2015,  Time : 12:00 AM,  View Count : 11
Staff Correspondent
The ruling Awami League eventually nominated Chittagong city AL General Secretary AJM Nasiruddin as the mayoral candidate for Chittagong City Corporation polls scheduled to be held on April 28.
AL President Sheikh Hasina on Friday night made the announcement in a meeting with leaders of Chittagong AL with senior party leaders at her official residence at Ganabhaban. She presided the meeting, sources said.
The AL also formed 15 "election coordination committees" in the capital to run election campaigns for the party favourites for the Dhaka City Corpora-tions, meeting sources said.
Besides, Chittagong city leaders will also form such committees in every ward during the election.
Meanwhile, ABM Mohiuddin Chowdhury, city AL President and former city mayor proposed the candidature of AJM Nasiruddin for the CCC polls in the meeting, sources said.
The party chief on February 26 backed Sayeed Khokon, son of late Dhaka mayor Mohammad Hanif, and businessman Annisul Huq for mayor of Dhaka south and north city corporations respectively.
Although there is a rumor that AL might withdraw support from the two candidates, but Thursday's meeting dismissed any such possibility.
However, if Sayeed Khokon is disqualified to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) polls for defaulting on bank loans, the party would back another candidate.
Meanwhile, aspirants will have to file nominations by March 28. The nomination papers will be scrutinised on April 1 and 2.
AL leaders Tofail Ahmed, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Faruk Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Dr Abdur Razzak, among others, were present.
The meeting was attended by Minister and AL Presidium Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Nurul Islam Bsc, Abdus Salam, Muslemuddin Ahmed, Mofizur Rahman, AJM Nasiruddin, President and General Secretaries of Chittagong district North, South and City Awami League respectively.
Our Chittagong correspondent adds: When contacted, Mofizur Rahman, General Secretary of Chittagong district South who attended the meeting in the capital confirmed the decision.
Regional Election Officer Abdul Baten will be in-charge of Chittagong City Corporation election.
The last election to the Chittagong City Corporation was held on June 17 in 2010.
As per the law, polls to the city corporation in Chittagong have to be held within July of 2015.
From BNP, the incumbent Mayor M Manzur Alam and Chittagong City BNP General Secretary Dr Shahadat Hussain are said to be aspirants for the post.
Besides, Solaiman Alam Sheth and Murshed Murad Ibrahim also started campaign as the Mayor candidates from the Jatiya Party.

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected].