Space For Rent

Space For Rent
Tuesday, November 4, 2014, Kartik 20, 1421, Muharram 10, 1436 Hijr

Delhi headed for fresh elections
Observer Online Desk
Publish Date : 2014-11-04,  Publish Time : 10:24,  View Count : 31
India's capital, Delhi, is headed for fresh elections after the main parties said they were unable to form a new government.

Delhi has been without a government since February, when the then chief minister Arvind Kejriwal quit after an anti-corruption bill was blocked.

Since then, the state has been governed by the federal authorities through Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung.

The Supreme Court has said the impasse must be resolved quickly.

Lt-Gov Jung met leaders from all the three major political parties - the BJP, Congress and the anti-corruption Aam Aadmi Party - to find out whether they could reach an agreement.

"All the above parties expressed their inability to form the government," a statement issued by his office said.

Lt-Gov Jung is now likely to recommend President Pranab Mukherjee to dissolve the Delhi assembly and pave the way for fresh elections.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the single largest party in the 70-member state assembly. In the December 2013 election, the party won 31 seats and one seat was won by its ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD).

But as the party did not have a majority in the assembly, Mr Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (Common Man's Party) formed a government with support from the Congress party. AAP had won 28 seats while the Congress had won eight seats.

Mr Kejriwal quit on 14 February after opposition politicians blocked his bill, which would have created an independent body with the power to investigate politicians and civil servants suspected of corruption.


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]