Monday, 26 February, 2018, 7:24 AM
Home Front Page

Tk15,000cr projects to rebuild flood-hit infrastructures

Proposals to be placed at ECNEC meet

Published : Wednesday, 13 September, 2017 at 12:00 AM Count : 111
Mizanur Rahman

The government has taken up projects worth Tk 15,000 crore to rebuild the infrastructures, which have been damaged by floods in 32 districts across the country, Planning Commission sources said.   
The Pre-Evaluation Committee (PEC) of the Planning Commission has already cleared most of the proposals after assessing them on an emergency basis, officials concerned told the Daily Observer on Tuesday.
The PEC was tasked to assess the project proposals forwarded by the Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives (LGED) Ministry, they said.
According to sources, the project proposals are now ready to be placed before the Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) for final approval.  
The Local Government Division will implement the project by June 2022, sources added.  
Sources in the National Disaster Response Coordination Centre (NDRCC) under the Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief said the affected districts are Dinajpur, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Kurigram, Thakurgaon, Panchagarh, Gaibandha, Bogra, Sirajganj, Jamalpur, Sunamganj, Netrakona, Rangamati, Brahmanbaria, Faridpur, Rajbari, Jessore, Mymensingh, Tangail, Sylhet, Sherpur, Moulvibazar, Naogaon, Dhaka, Comilla, Rangpur, Manikganj, Joypurhat, Munshiganj, Madaripur, Natore and Chandpur.
Of them, the worst affected districts are Dinajpur, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Kurigram, Rangpur, Naogaon, Natore, Joypurhat, Jamalpur and Gaibandha.
As many as 145 people died in flood related incidents. Eighty-five religious and educational institutions have been completely damaged while 4,735 others partially damaged.
 "Work for rehabilitation of the affected people in the flood-hit areas is going on. The government-related agencies are doing the same thing," said Md Shah Kamal, Secretary of the Disaster Management and Relief Ministry.
The government has allocated Tk 1,950 crore for Rangpur Division, Tk 1,250 crore for Rajshahi Division, Tk 2,280 crore for Mymensingh Division, Tk 999 crore for Chittagong Division, Tk 1,716 crore for Dhaka Division, Tk 980 crore for Comilla Division, Tk 1,100 crore for Barishal Division, Tk 1,200 crore for greater Noakhali and Tk 420 for Sirajganj district.
Meanwhile, the government announced a Tk 58.77 crore incentive for the flood-affected farmers and around 550,000 farmers will come under the programme.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info[at], news[at], advertisement[at],   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft