Tuesday, 11 December, 2018, 9:14 AM
Home National

Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain made search committee chief

Published : Wednesday, 25 January, 2017 at 6:46 PM Count : 247
Observer Online Report

Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain has been made the chief of the six-member search Committee formulated for reconstituting the Election Commission (EC).

President Abdul Hamid on Wednesday morning formed the committee.

As per the rule, the President will  constitute the new commission by choosing names from the list made by the search committee.

The Cabinet Division may issue a gazette notification in this regard within a day or two.

The five other committee members are : Justice Obaidul Hasan, Comptroller and Auditor General of Bangladesh Masud Ahmed, Chairman of Bangladesh Public Service Commission (BPSC) Dr Muhammed Sadique, Pro Vice-Chancellor of Chittagong University (CU) Prof Dr Shireen Akhter and Dhaka University (DU) English Department teacher Prof Dr Syed Manzoorul Islam, said official sources.


« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@observerbd.com, online@observerbd.com, news@observerbd.com, advertisement@observerbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft