Thursday, 21 February, 2019, 8:24 PM
30 bodies identified, 3 handed over to families Chawkbazar fire: Rescue operation endsChawkbazar fire brought under control after 10hrsChawkbazar fire: Death toll jumps to 70
Home Front Page

JS Reserved Seats

49 women going to be elected unopposed

Published : Tuesday, 12 February, 2019 at 12:00 AM  Count : 562

Forty-nine candidates are going to be elected members of the 11th parliament unopposed as there is no contestant against them for the 50 reserved seats for women.
BNP, which deserves a member to be elected from their party as per ratio of their elected members in the house, did not file any nomination to the Election Commission.
The post is remaining unfilled because none of the winners from the BNP-led alliance took oath of the office till now. It is unclear whether the party's MPs will take their seats in parliament.
Members of the ruling Awami League, other parties represented in parliament and an independent candidate have submitted their nominations.
Awami League submitted 43 nominations, Jatiya Party four, Workers Party one and an independent candidate submitted another nomination. Monday was the final day to submit nomination papers.
A delegation of Awami League led by the party General Secretary Obaidul Quader submitted the list of the nominees to the returning officer at the Nirbachan Bhaban in Dhaka's Agargaon this afternoon.
EC Joint Secretary Abul Kashem, who is acting as the returning officer, said, as there is no competition for the posts, all of the 49 candidates will be announced elected unopposed, if their nominations are found valid and if they do not withdraw their nominations by February 16.
The 43 AL candidates are: Anjum Sultana (Cumilla), Sultana Nadira (Barguna), Hosne Ara (Jamalpur), Rumana Ali (Gazipur),
Umme Fatema Nazma Begum (Brahmanbaria), Habiba Rahman Khan Shefali (Netrakona), Zakia Parvin Khanam (Netrakona), Sheikh Any Rahman (Pirojpur), Aparajita Haque (Tangail), Shamima Akter Khanam (Sunamganj), Shamsunnahar Bhuiyan (Gazipur), Fazilatun Nesa (Munshiganj), Rabeya Alim (Nilphamari), Tamanna Nusrat Bubli (Narsingdi), Nargis Rahman (Gopalganj), Manira Sultana (Mymensingh), Nahid Ijhar Khan (Dhaka), Khaleda Khanam (Jhenidah), Syeda Rubina Mira (Barishal), Wasika Ayesha Khan (Chattogram), Kazi Kaniz Sultana (Patuakhali), advocate Gloria Jharna Sarker (Khulna), Suborna Mostafa (Dhaka), Zakia Tabassum (Dinajpur), Farida Khanom Saki (Noakhali), Bashanti Chakma (Khagrachhari), Kaniz Fatema Ahmed (Cox's Bazar), Roshema Begum (Faridpur), Syeda Rashida Begum (Kushtia), Syeda Zohra Alauddin (Moulvibazar), Adina Anjum Mita (Rajshahi), Arma Dutta (Cumilla), Shirina Nahar (Khulna), Ferdousi Islam Jessy (Chapainawabganj), Parvin Haque Sikder (Shariatpur), Sajeda Nusrat (Rajbari), Shabna Jahan Shila (Dhaka), Khadizatul Anwar (Chattogram), Tahmina Begum (Madaripur), Shirin Ahmed (Dhaka) Zinnatul Bakia (Dhaka), Nadia Islam Jolly (Pabna) and Ratna Ahmed (Natore).
Candidates of the opposition Jatiya Party are Salma Islam, Raushan Ara Mannan, Masuda M Rashid Chowdhury and Nazma Akhter.
Workers' Party of Bangladesh submitted the name of its lone candidate Lutfunnessa Khan, the wife of the party's president Rashed Khan Menon.  Selina Islam, the wife of independently elected MP of Md Shahid Islam of Laksmipur-2, is the only candidate for the independent parliament members.
Monday was the deadline for submitting the nomination papers for the election to the reserved seats slated for March 4.
On February 3, the Election Commission announced the election schedule for the reserved seats.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft