Tuesday, 19 February, 2019, 12:32 PM
Home Election 2018

AL starts giving final nominations to party, alliances candidates

Published : Friday, 7 December, 2018 at 8:10 PM  Count : 256

AL starts giving final nominations to party, alliances candidates

AL starts giving final nominations to party, alliances candidates

Awami League has started giving the letters of final nomination to the candidates of the party and the grand alliance who will contest in the 11th parliamentary elections with ‘boat’, the electoral symbol of AL.

The ruling party also declared its single candidates for 17 constituencies where it gave nominations to more than one aspirants earlier, reports BSS.

Among those, Awami League former general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam was finalised for Kishoreganj-1 constituency while Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury for Rangpur-6.

AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader today announced the names of the final nominees of the party at AL president’s political office in city’s Dhanmondi. At the function, Quader handed over the final nomination letters to alliances partners.

The final nominees of AL are – Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury (Rangpur-6), Syed Ashraful Islam (Kishoreganj-1), Habibur Rahman Molla (Dhaka-5), Hazi Md Selim (Dhaka-7), Akbar Hossain Pathan Faruque (Dhaka-17), Dr Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir (Chandpur-1), Md Nurul Amin (Chandpur-2), Muhammad Shafiqur Rahman (Chandpur-4), AKM Shahjahan Kamal (Laxmipur-3), BM Kabirul Haque (Narail-1), Direndra Debnath Shambhu (Barguna-1), ASM Firoz (Patuakhali-2), Tanvir Hossain alias Chota Manir (Tangail-2), Md Mozaffar Hossain (Jamalpur-5) and Abul Kalam Azad (Jamalpur-1).

Earlier, Awami League gave nominations two candidates in those constituencies each.

Quader, also the road transport and bridges minister, said Jatiya Party (Ershad) will get 40 to 42 seats.

The ruling party kept five constituencies for Workers Party of Bangladesh, three constituencies for Juktofront, three for Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) faction led by Hasanul Haque Inu, two for Tarikat Federation, one for Ambia-led JSD faction, two for Jatiya Party (Manju).

The alliances nominees are – JSD (Ambia) Moinuddin Khan Badal (Chattogram-8), Jatiya Party (JP) Ruhul Amin (Kurigram-4), Anowar Hossain Manju (Pirojpur-2) Syed Nazibul Bashar Maijbhandari (Chattogram-2), FM Shahin (Moulavibazar-2) Major (Retd) MA Mannan (Laxmipur-4), Mahi B Chowdhury (Munsiganj-1), Shirin Akther (Feni-1), Rezaul Karim Tansen (Bogra-4), Hasanul Haque Inu (Kustia-2), Rashed Khan Menon (Dhaka-8), Fazle Hossain Badsha (Rajshahi-2) and Mostafa Lutfullha (Satkhira-1).

Related Topics

AL   starts   giving  

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@dailyobserverbd.com, online@dailyobserverbd.com, news@dailyobserverbd.com, advertisement@dailyobserverbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft