Tuesday, 19 February, 2019, 11:29 AM
2nd phase of Bishwa Ijtema ends today with Akheri Munajat
Home Election 2018

Oikyafront postpones Dec 10 rally, unveils manifesto Dec 17

Published : Thursday, 6 December, 2018 at 11:11 PM  Count : 211

Image result for Jatiya Oikyafront

Image result for Jatiya Oikyafront

Jatiya Oikyafront will formally unveil its election manifesto on December 17, a day after the Victory Day.

"We'll announce the Jatiya Oikyafront's manifesto on December 17 through a press conference," said BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, reports UNB.

He came up with the announcement while talking to reporters after a meeting of the alliance steering committee at Dr Kamal Hossain's Motijheel chamber on Thursday evening.

Besides, Fakhrul said, they postponed their rally scheduled for December 10 at the capital's Suhrawardy Udyan due to the upcoming national election.

The BNP leader, however, said they will hold the rally in the capital at the fag-end of the election campaign in favour of their alliance candidates.

Earlier in the day, BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi announced that Jatiya Oikyafront would hold a rally at Suhrawardy Udyan in the city on December 10 ahead of the 11th parliamentary elections.

Fakhrul, also the spokesman of the Oikyafront, said they talked about the prevailing election atmosphere in the country and the continued arrest of the opposition leaders and activists after the announcement of the election schedule.

He said they also discussed the cancellation of nominations of huge number alliance candidates and the distribution of the election symbol among the 300 Oikyafront runners.

The BNP leader said they decided that all the Oikyafront candidates will go to their respective constituencies to carry out electioneering after the distribution of the election symbol.

He said they also discussed the seat-sharing issue at the meeting. "We'll let you know about our final decision on it within couple of days."

Apart from Fakhrul, JSD president ASM Abdur Rob, general secretary Abdul Malek Ratan, Krishak Sramik Janata League president Abdul Kader Siddiqui, Gano Forum executive president Subrata Chowdhury, general secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu, Nagorik Oikya convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna, Oikya Prokriya's Sultan Mohammad Mansur and Ganoshasthya Kendra founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury were present at the meeting with Dr Kamal Hossain in the chair.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail: info@dailyobserverbd.com, online@dailyobserverbd.com, news@dailyobserverbd.com, advertisement@dailyobserverbd.com,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft