Friday, 22 February, 2019, 7:46 AM
30 bodies identified, 3 handed over to families Chawkbazar fire: Rescue operation endsChawkbazar fire brought under control after 10hrsChawkbazar fire: Death toll jumps to 70
Home Sports

Mashrafe led BCB XI take on Windies for warm-up

Published : Thursday, 6 December, 2018 at 12:00 AM  Count : 134
Sports Reporter

Mashrafe Mortaza finds something interesting to look at.	photo: AFP

Mashrafe Mortaza finds something interesting to look at. photo: AFP

The solitary one-day practice match between the BCB XI and visiting Windies is scheduled to be held today at BKSP Cricket Ground 3.
Bangladesh ODI skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza will lead the BCB XI as a part of his preparation before international battles. Dashing opener Tamim Iqbal also had chosen the warm-up match to resume his actions.
Tamim was ruled out of the Asia Cup in the inaugural match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka on September 15 this year, who is going to recommence his international appearance with the ODI match of December 9.
Besides Mashrafe and Tamim, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarker, Mohammad Mithun, Ariful Hoque, Rubel Hossain and Nazmul Islam Apu also will feat the BCB XI from the 15-member national ODI squad against Windies.
Imrul played the first Test but was dropped from the second one for injury while Rubel missed all the matches of the series against Zimbabwe alongside the Test series with Windies. Nazmul Apu also got long gap since he had been out of national tent after the limited over Zimbabwean clashes.
Soumya and Mithun, however, were in games but still will come to warm them up.    
The Windies, on the other hand, had made few changes for 50-over matches. They boosted up their side adding Darren Bravo, Roston Chase and Carlos Brathwaite in their troop. The recently flew Caribbean boys must try to utilise the scope of adapting with the Bangladesh spinning track before commencing the bilateral encounters.
The two teams will play three ODIs on December 9, 11 and 14 followed by three T20i matches on 17, 20 and 22 respectively.

Masrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarker, Md Mithun, Tawhid Riday, Ariful Hoque, Akbar Ali, Rubel Hossain, Mithun Joy, Shahin Alam, Medidy Hasan Rana, Nazmul Islam Apu.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft