Wednesday, 23 January, 2019, 6:44 AM
Home Front Page

Inform in 3 days to join poll under alliance: EC

66 returning officers appointed

Published : Saturday, 10 November, 2018 at 12:00 AM  Count : 314

Election Commission Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed has said the candidates must inform the EC within three days if they want to join the upcoming parliamentary election under any electoral alliance.
 "We have issued letters to the political parties in this regard today (Friday)," he said while briefing the media at his office at Nirbachan Bhaban in the capital's Agargaon on Friday.
He said the leaders and activists of unregistered parties including Jamaat-e-Islami, whose registration was cancelled, can contest the polls with any registered party symbol or under independent status
He said if the registered parties want, they can make unregistered party leaders as their candidates. But in this regard the party under which Jamaat or any other unregistered party leaders want to contest the election must buy nomination papers from the Election Commission.
The EC secretary said there is no law to bar any unregistered party leader or member from contesting the election under independent status.    
He said no one can go for publicity and campaign before symbol allocation and all posters must be removed within the next seven days.
Meanwhile, The Election Commission (EC) has appointed 66 returning officers across the country for the 11th parliamentary elections.
If them, 64 are deputy commissioners (DC) and are two divisional commissioners.
On Friday, EC Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed confirmed the appointment with a certificate signed by the EC Joint Secretary SM
The Election Commission issued a notification signed by Election Commission Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed in this regard.
Besides, Upazila Nirbahi Officers (UNOs) have been appointed as Assistant Returning Officer.
In some constituencies, assistant commissioners (Land) have been made assistant returning officers.
The Deputy Commissioners have been made Returning Officers in all the constituencies of the district concerned except Dhaka and Chattogram.
In Dhaka, the Divisional Commissioner has been made the Returning Officer for 15 constituencies while the Deputy Commissioner for the rest five constituencies of the district.
In Chattogram, the Divisional Commissioner has been made the RO for six constituencies while the Deputy Commissioner for the rest 10 constituencies of the district.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft