Monday, 19 November, 2018, 5:07 AM
Home Countryside

Upcoming JS Election

Bogura-1 Constituency: AL campaigning, BNP absent

Published : Friday, 9 November, 2018 at 12:00 AM Count : 403
Our Correspondent

BOGURA, Nov 8: The Bogura-1 Constituency is formed with Sariakandi and Sonatala upazilas.
The Awami League (AL) aspirant Abdul Mannan is campaigning in the field while district BNP President VP Saiful Islam thinks that they will regain the seat. But, no BNP aspirants or workers were found to campaign as the nomination is yet to be confirmed.
After the Liberation War, AL lost the seat in 1979 general election. Earlier, AL leader Sirajul Islam Suruj was lawmaker of the seat in 1973. From second to eighth general elections, the seat was bagged by either BNP or Jatiya Party. After losing for three consecutive times since 1991, former president of Bangladesh Chhatra League and former organising secretary of AL Abdul Mannan defeated BNP candidate Md Shokrana in 2008 general election. Since then he has been holding the seat.
Local people said no lawmaker before Abdul Mannan did as much progress for this constituency among six others in the last ten years. Due to inaction of BNP leaders and activists, Abdul Mannan has strongly gripped the seat.
BNP has almost been absent in the seat in last ten years. Their activists are yet to start campaign as the nominee has not been fixed for the next general election. Taking this chance, AL's Abdul Mannan is approaching with great speed. He has done much progress in Sariakandi and Sonatala upazilas. He claimed he has performed development works worth Taka 1,645,77,84,000 in his area in last ten years.
The 12 upazilas of Bogura are divided into seven constituencies. Besides AL' Abdul Mannan and BNP's Md Shokrana, there are other aspirants, like Sariakandi Upazila Chairman Masudar Rahman Hiru, Sonatala Upazila Chairman Ahsanul Tyeb Zakir, and Mosharraf Hossen. Of them, BNP's Md Shokrana and Mosharraf Hossen have the ability to campaign.
But, there is feud among local BNP over nomination. As the candidature is yet to be fixed, so the BNP is lagging behind in campaigning.
While asked about the party feud, Md Shokrana said former BNP lawmaker Kazi Rafiqul Islam assisted Abdul Mannan in 2008 election, so he was defeated. He, however, said though he is not nominated, he will work for the candidate.
There are 3,08,902 voters in Bogura-1 constituency. Of those, 1,67,782 are in Sariakandi Upazila and 1,41,120 in Sonatala Upazila.
President of District BNP VP Saiful Islam said Bogura-1 constituency is important among all other seats, and they are hopeful about the win of their candidate.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft