Friday, 14 December, 2018, 11:47 PM
Home Sports

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka first T20 today

Acid test for youth based T20 Tigers

Published : Thursday, 15 February, 2018 at 12:00 AM Count : 539
Sports Reporter

It is sure for Bangladesh that they are going to make debut of three new faces in the first T20i against Sri Lanka today, more than that will not be a big bombshell.
The 15 men squad of Bangladesh cricket team is a complete surprising package with seven amateurs including five uncapped players, while they will certainly suffer much in absence of Shakib Al Hasan for his injury, who is their Test and T20 captain as well as the best cricketer with both bat and ball. Mahmudullah Riyad will lead Bangladesh, which is confirmed by team selectors just two days before the match.
How'll be the playing eleven of Tigers; who, according to many backbiters, had set their 'A' team for this T20 series?  Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar are the opening pair, although acting skipper Mahmudullah, in the pre-match press conference, expressed doubt about Tamim's appearance with the bat in first T20i for muscle pain in his left arm.
Prospect of inclusion of Mohammad Mithun as wicket keeper cum opening batter peeping over the Tiger squad, as their ex-captain and most consistent performer with the bat and behind the wicket gloves, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk) is possibly missing the first T20i for wrist injury. Sabbir Rahman will bat at three, while lefty all-rounder Afif Hasan, who is being treated as the shadow of Shakib Al Hasan and next all-round superstar for Bangladesh cricket, is going to bat at number four followed by Mahmudullah and Mushiqur Rahim.
If either of the two, Mushfiq and Tamim, remained unavailable, young hero of under-19 cricket, Mehedi Hasan will bat at number six, who was flew back from New Zealand for the Test series, remained uncapped, is considering as the main spinner because hosts dropped out both the experienced spinners (Taijul and Razzak) from T20 primaries. He showed his excels with the bat in U-19 team, local cricket and last session of BPL as well; Mehedi Hasan (jr.) replaced another Mehedi Hasan (Miraz) in the primary squad.
Position number seven and eight will filled with the two off  Abu Jayed Rahi-Ariful Haque-Mohammad Saifuddin trio pace all-rounder as BCB seeking for big hitter-cum-pacer like Thesera Perera. With lot of responsibility to lead the pace attack, Mustafizur Rahman will accompany Rubel Hossain, who will followed by Nazmul Opu in the final eleven for the first T20 international match against Sri Lanka today.
Bangladesh think tank focusing youth based T20 squad as a part of long term preparation for T20 World Cup in the year of Twenty20 in Australia.
Possible Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim(wk)/ Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad (c), Sabbir Rahman, Afif Hossain Mahedi Hasan (both will play if Tamim can't play),  Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque / Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Nazmul Opu.

« PreviousNext »

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Online: 9513959, Advertisement: 9513663
E-mail:,,,,   [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft